The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 April 2013, 12:02 pm
470 Spring Cup Concludes In France
Annie Haeger/Briana Provancha (USA)
Annie Haeger/Briana Provancha (USA)

International 470 Spring Cup
Cap d'Agde, France

Five days of racing and 11 races delivered six different nations to the podium at the XXXVIII International 470 Spring Cup.
The racing was held in different weather conditions each day, but never extreme or too windy, but sufficiently testing the physical endurance, patience, tactics, consistency and experience of racers.

On Sunday's last day of racing, the weather offered just perfect race conditions, with sun, blue sky, sea and a steady wind of 20 knots. The battle was through to the end with no team assured of a place in the overall series top three.

However, it was no surprise that the Olympic pairing of Lucas Calabrese and Juan de la Fuente (ARG) dominated to claim the series win. The pair didn't need to win the last race to take the title, but they did in impressive style. Calabrese and de la Fuente secured an Olympic bronze medal at the 2012 London Olympics, and de la Fuente was the bronze medallist at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, with helm Javier Conte.

Finishing in second overall, and seven points behind the Argentinean pair, were Germany's world #16 ranked pair of Jasper Wagner and Dustin Baldewein, with New Zealand's Paul Snow-Hansen and Daniel Willcox in third. A great result for Olympic helm Snow-Hansen with new crew Willcox to hold firm with a podium finish, despite being over the line at the start in the final race.

The men and women raced as one fleet, but with separate prizes awarded. A really impressive result from the World #23 pair of Annie Haeger and Briana Provancha from the United States who finished fifth overall in the series and the top women's team. They raced a really consistent series, aside from an OCS in the last race, and finished 57 points ahead of the next women's team. Fourteenth overall and second women's team were Switzerland's Linda Fahrni and Maja Siegenthaler, with the Ukraine's Anna Kyselova and Katerina Babiychuk finishing one place behind at 15th on the overall rankings and third women's team.

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM