The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
24 February 2005, 11:09 am
Race Starts Today
No ALT tag specified

Manila to Boracay Race 2005
Manila, Philippines

The Philippines' premier racing event begins today with the opening of the Standard Insurance - Smart Infinity Manila to Boracay Regatta.
Racing starts today at 13:50 hours on the 200nm course from the Manila Yacht Club. The yachts will follow a passage taking them past an Nicolas Beacon, Mindoro Island and Verde Island before finishing at little known Boracay Island. There they should be able to relax and recuperate on the island's stunning beaches.

The winners of the IRC Racing Class will receive the Kellett Island Trophy, currently held by Frank PONG. Last year he finished in just 19 hours and 40 minutes in his Reichel Pugh 77 Jelik. Prizes for first, second and third will also be given out to winners of the PYS Cruising and Sailing/Motoring classes.

The inaugural race in 2003 is remembered for winds over 40 knots which saw some yachts surfing down the east of Mindoro at 17 knots and for the swinging beach parties which followed.

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM