The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 February 2005, 09:13 am
Kiwi Minoprio Joins Aussie Jarvin At The Top
No ALT tag specified

Warren Jones Youth Regatta
Perth, Australia

Simon MINOPRIO representing the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, has joined Sydney skipper Seve JARVIN at the top of the leaderboard after the second day of the Warren Jones Youth Regatta, on the Swan River.
The young Kiwi skipper, who won this event last year, climbed from fifth place overnight, to share the top rung on the ladder with Jarvin, who led the regatta at the end of the first day.

'I was really happy with the way we've been racing today,' commented Minoprio, 'but I'd like to have done a bit better,' he added, having lost one race during the day, to Michael DUNSTAN of the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron.

He complimented his crew, whose boat handling was exceptionally good, 'the crew and the boat are working really well, it was very breezey out there again.'

After a day of over 20 knots on the opening day, in which two boats were nearly sunk, a shifty and gusty south easterly breeze, in the 8 to 18 knot range kept the crews busy on the second day.

Michael DUNSTAN, who caused the crash on the opening day, that nearly sank the two boats, did well to put that trauma behind him, and put in a solid performance to move into third place on the leaderboard.

The twelve youth teams contesting this regatta have put on some great tactical racing that has kept the competition tight, and many of the races undecided until the final few metres of the course.

In a number of his victories during the day Simon MINOPRIO had to come from behind, and he show real tenacity, to wear down his opposition, and then snatch the lead when the opportunity arose.

The Warren Jones Youth Regatta is being hosted this year by the Royal Perth Yacht Club annually with the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club and is run by the Western Australian Yachting Foundation.

The event consists of a double round robin, followed by a best of three final between the top two scorers, plus a similar petit-final for third and fourth place.

Scores after two days.

Pos - Skipper, Club - wins - losses
1= Seve JARVIN, CYCA 11-4
1= Simon MINOPRIO, RNZYS 11-4
3 Michael DUNSTAN, RSYS 10-3
4= Laurie JURY, RNZYS 8-5
4= Keith SWINTON, SoPYC 8-5
6= Emil WIBERG, GKSS 8-6
7 Jackson DIGNEY, RPYC 7-6
8 Murray GORDON, RPAYC 6-7
9 Torvar MIRSKY, FSC 5-9
10 Alistair HALL, RYA 4-11
11 Adam GARNAUT, RFBYC 3-10
12 Brian ANGEL, KHYC 1-12
John Roberson (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM