The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 February 2005, 10:38 am
Great Britain A Win
No ALT tag specified

International 14 Team World Championship
Takapuna Beach, New Zealand

It was a great day for Team Racing at Takapuna, New Zealand today, with exciting competition in light southerly winds. The format was that the winner would be the first team to win three races out of five.
Three umpire boats followed the fleet and whistles were heard across the water. For the first time in the regatta penalties were issued and penalty turns were taken.

Australia took the first race with placings 1,2,4 and 5 and race two went to Great Britain A who finished 1,3,5 and 8. The balance continued to tip back and forth as Australia won the third race, finishing 2,4,5 and 6, and Great Britain A the fourth with 1,2,3 and 6. The tension was understandably high as the teams headed into the fifth and final race.

Race five was a perfect final for a great series and there was a great deal of changing of position. Eventually, but Great Britain A came through to win, finishing in 2,3,4 and 6.

The winning team were:

GBR 1506 Mark UPTON-BROWN and Mike PENNOCK, GBR 1517 Victor BRELLISFORD and Damian ASH, GBR 1484 Chris TURNER and Peter BAGWELL and GBR 1503 Andrew PARTINGTON and Ben VERNIERES.

Tonight all the teams will be celebrating at a dinner to be held at the oceanfront Takapuna Boating Club facility. While they wait, team members will be watching videotaped footage of themselves on the big screen, with moans at the capsizes and cheers at the successful maneuvers.

Friday 11 February is the first fleet race, which will be a practice for the official worlds which start Saturday.

No ALT tag specified

Two British competitors sandwich the Australians at the start of the Final with the scores at 2-2 © Richard Gladwell

Event Media (As Amended by ISAF), Images: © Richard Gladwell
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM