The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 February 2005, 10:05 am
2003 World Champions Lead After Three Races
No ALT tag specified

Star World Championship 2005
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Race Three of the 2005 Star World Championship in beautiful Buenos Aires was sailed under sunny skies with winds from the east southeast between 9 and 11 knots. First round the first upwind mark were the British team of Iain PERCY and crew Steve MITCHELL, followed by the French Philippe PRESTI and crew Jean-Phillipe SALIOU.
The USA team Mark REYNOLDS and Phil TRINTER rounded third, the Brazilian teams Torben GRAEL and crew Marcelo FERREIRA in fourth position and Robert SCHEIDT and crew Bruno PRADA completed the top five.

Percy and Mitchell maintained their position rounding the first downwind mark with Scheidt and Prada catching up to round in second, and the French team of Rohart and Rambeau, winners of Race 2 in third position. True to form, Rohart and Rambeau had a good second upwind leg to round in second position while Scheidt and Prada captured first position around this mark. Percy and Mitchell lost on this leg to round in third position.

The second downwind leg was won by Scheidt and Prada, followed by Percy and Mitchell in second and Rohart and Rambeau in third position. Fourth around were the French Presti and Saliou and in fifth was the team of the Swedes Lööf and Ekström.
Robert SCHEIDT and Bruno PRADA hung on to finish first in this third Race followed in second by Iain PERCY and Steve MITCHELL, third were Xavier ROHART and Pascal RAMBEAU, fourth Phillipe PRESTI and Jean-Phillipe SALIOU and in fifth place the Australians Iain MURRAY and Andrew PALFREY.

The Championship is being lead now by Xavier ROHART and Pascal RAMBEU with ten points, followed by the defending World Champions, Freddy LÖÖF-Anders EKSTRÖM with twelve points and in third place we have the 2004 Olympic gold medallists Torben GRAEL and Marcel FERREIRA with 15 points.

Top Ten After Three Races

Pos Nation Helm Crew Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Points
1 FRA Xavier ROHART Pascal RAMBEAU 6 1 3 10
2 SWE Fredrik LÖÖF Anders EKSTRÖM 2 4 6 12
3 BRA Torben GRAEL Marcelo FERREIRA 1 6 8 15
4 FRA Philippe PRESTI Jean-Phillipe SALIOU 5 9 4 18
5 BRA Robert SCHEIDT Bruno PRADA 10 8 1 19
6 NED Roy HEINER Alex BREUSEKER 3 7 10 20
7 USA Mark REYNOLDS Phil TRINTER 7 3 11 21
8 AUS Iain MURRAY Andrew PalFrey 8 12 5 25
9 POR Afonso DOMINGOS Bernardo SANTOS 14 5 9 28
10 USA George SZABO Brian FATIH 9 11 13 33
Event Media (As Amended by ISAF), Image: © Jan Walker
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM