The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 February 2005, 12:10 pm
Awarded ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy
No ALT tag specified


Paul Henderson, ISAF President from 1994-2004, has been awarded ISAF's most prestigious trophy in recognition of 'outstanding voluntary contribution to the sport of sailing', the ISAF Beppe Croce Trophy. The ISAF Beppe Croce was originally presented to ISAF by the Federazione Italiana Vela, in memory of Beppe Croce, ISAF President from 1969-1986, and was awarded for the first time in 1988.

It was Beppe Croce who encouraged Paul to join the then IYRU in 1970, mentoring him as he became a member of the Class Policy and Organization Committee. Reflecting on his first ISAF Committee role, on the CPOC, Paul reflected, 'I was put on the CPOC because nobody knew what Class Policy and Organization was!'

In 1978, Paul was elected an ISAF Vice-President, a position he held until 1994, before leading ISAF as the President from 1994-2004, the first non-European to ever hold this position.

Internationally, and alongside his ISAF work, Paul has been a member of the International Olympic Committee, Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) and the General Assembly of International Sports Federations (GAISF).

Paying tribute to Paul's contribution to the sport of sailing, ISAF hosted a reception at the 2004 ISAF Annual Conference, Copenhagen, Denmark attended by 300 representatives from the world of sailing and the world of sport.

The presentation of the ISAF Beppe Croce to Paul Henderson will take place during the 2005 ISAF Mid-Year Meeting on Friday 13 May, Stockholm, Sweden. Sanpellegrino, ISAF's Official Water Supplier and sponsor of the Beppe Croce Trophy presentation, will be hosting the Award dinner.

The Beppe Croce Trophy roll of honour is an impressive one, including multiple Olympic medallists, rules gurus and designers, all whom have dedicated an outstanding amount of time to the sport of sailing.

Past recipients include:


His Majesty King Olav V of Norway


Henry H. Anderson, Jr (USA)


F. Gregg Bemis (USA) / Gerald Sambrooke-Sturgess, OBE (GBR)


Carlo Rolandi (ITA)


Paul Elvström (DEN)


Peter Tallberg (FIN)


His Majesty King Juan Carlos of Spain


Mary Pera (GBR)


Olin Stephens II (USA)


Livius Sherwood (CAN)


Paul J. Phelan (CAN)


Peter Siemsen (BRA)


Jonathan Janson (GBR)


Jan Linge (NOR)


Otto Schlenzka (GER)


John B. Tinker (CAN)

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM