The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 February 2005, 04:33 pm
Dunstan (AUS) Leads Minoprio (NZL).
No ALT tag specified

Warren Jones Youth Regatta
Perth, Australia

Young Sydney skipper Michael DUNSTAN has taken over the top spot on the leaderboard at the Warren Jones Youth Regatta, ahead of New Zealand's Simon MINOPRIO, who won the event last year.
On a day that tested the twelve crews from five countries in just about every way possible, Dunstan put in a consistent performance, using text book match racing tactics to chalk up five wins and no losses on this the third day of the series.

'I was pretty happy with today, especially after the first day which was pretty bad,' commented Dunstan, referring to the major collision he was involved in on Monday, adding 'the conditions were quite shifty and tough.'

Indeed the Perth weather threw a bit of everything at the sailors today, with racing postponed for an hour at the start of the day with gusts of 35 knots ripping across the Swan River.

Racing started in over 20 knots of breeze, which gradually faded out leaving a light, shifty and patchy south easterly breeze in the middle of the afternoon, before the easterly started to re-establish itself late in the day.

Minoprio, who had shared the top spot overnight with another Sydney skipper, Seve JARVIN, had a three win and one loss score card for the day, he commented, 'there were very shifty conditions.

'You could be winning, and then the wind would shift, and you'd lose, so we were pretty happy to win three out of four today. I'm not thinking about the pressure of winning the event twice in a row, we'll take tomorrow as it comes.'

Seve JARVIN, of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, who has led the regatta since the start, slipped from the top spot after only scoring two wins from four races today.

His comment on the day was, 'we're not very happy at losing our last race against Michael DUNSTAN, it'll be tough to make the finals, but we'll just have to sail smart tomorrow.'

Thursday is the final day of the event, which is being hosted by the Royal Perth Yacht Club in conjunction with the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, and the top two scorers in the double round robin, will sail a best of three race final, while the third and fourth place will be decided by a similar petit-final.

RESULTS: at the end of day 3:

Pos - Skipper Club - wins - losses

1 Michael DUNSTAN, RSYS 15-4
2 Simon MINOPRIO, RNZYS 14-5
3= Seve JARVIN, CYCA 13-6
3= Laurie JURY, RNZYS 13-6
5= Emil WIBERG, GKSS 11-8
5= Murray GORDON, RPAYC 11-8
7 Keith SWINTON, SoPYC 9-10
8= Jackson DIGNEY, RPYC 8-11
8= Torvar MIRSKY, FSC 8-11
10 Alistair HALL, RYA 6-13
11 Adam GARNAUT, RFBYC 4-15
12 Brian ANGEL, KHYC 2-17

John Roberson (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM