The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 July 2005, 11:33 am
TIMMERMANS Crowned Champion
No ALT tag specified

J/22 World Championship 2005
Medemblik, Netherlands

On Friday 8 July 2005, the Dutch team of Tjarco TIMMERMANS, Jurjen FEITSMA, Fanny VAN LEEUWEN and Ivan PEULE became the 2005 J/22 World Champions. After an impressive series of results, the four did not need to sail the final race of the Gaastra J22 Worlds in Medemblik, Netherlands.
The same could not be said for the other two podium positions and it was a fight to the end. Ultimately, the trio of John DEN ENGELSMAN, Sven MACHIELSEN and Bram VAN HOOIJDONK took over the second position from Nic BOL and his team.

After the calm weather of Thursday, Friday morning started with a postponement as well but the Race Committee were able to complete two races to bring the series total to eight. About noon the first starting signal was given. FORMA, SCHAAF and VAN GELDEREN (NED) took an early lead and maintained it. The team of TIMMERMANS rounded the first upwind mark in fourth position and finally finished in second. Although they shouted for joy modestly, the result turned out to be enough for the victory. A stand-up ovation by the trio FORMA said enough. Mark Van GELDEREN: 'Tjarco was a first-class sailor. Their win is deserved.' The golden quartet has sailed together for less than a year, but they trained every weekend. According to Fanny Van LEEUWEN, their team spirit is their biggest secret. 'And we continually worked at our boat speed.' They were absolutely the fastest with a consistent series including three bullets with their worst result a fifth.

Friday's first race passed off less gloriously for John Den ENGELSMAN, 2003 World Champion runner up in 2004, and pre-regatta favourite Nic BOL. Bram Van HOOIJDONK, bowman at DEN ENGELSMAN: 'We were totally convinced of the right side of the course, since there was a huge, black cloud, but the wind shifted to the left. We came almost as last team at the upwind mark.' And they were wrong again in the second windward leg, so they had to take a risk. 'We went extremely to the right, where we lost more boats', said VAN HOOIJDONK. A 38th position was the result. Nic BOL and his team had a bad race as well and ended as 30, so the competition for silver was still on.

The final race was decisive. VAN HOOIJDONK: 'The numbers two until ten were close, so we had to be fast.' DEN ENGELSMAN took his revenge and leaded the fleet until the last windward leg. Just at the end they had to let go two teams. Nic BOL, Hjo BIJLEVELD, Dennis GOETHALS and Sander VAN DER BORCH were eighth and dropped to the third position overall. BOL: 'Of course that is sour, but we are still very satisfied. There are about 82 other teams that would have liked to stay here, where we are.'

The only Dutch female team of Marijke MANUEL, Lot VAN HOOIJDONK, Bregje LODEWIKUS and Renske VERBEEK ended in sixth position overall. Since they have sailed in this formation for only two months it was a surprise result. 'Prior to the championship, our goal was to get into the gold fleet', said Lot Van HOOIJDONK. 'According to our trainer, there is much potency in our team, so I am very happy that we showed it this week', added Marijke MANUEL proudly. On the last racing day, the girls climbed three places.

The Gaastra J22 Worlds 2005 started on Monday July 4 and ended on Friday July 8 in Medemblik, the Netherlands. The fleet consisted of 84 J22's, representing eight countries. The qualification races for gold and silver fleet were sailed on the first two days, but the participants had to stay ashore on Monday due to bad conditions. Finally, eight out of fourteen planned races took place.

Top Ten - Final Results

Pos Nation Helm Crew Crew Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 Pts
1 NED Tjarco TIMMERMANS Jurjen FEITSMA Fanny VAN LEEUWEN Ivan PEUTE 2 1 1 3 1 5 2 (dns) 15
2 NED John DEN ENGELSMAN Sven MACHIELSEN Bram VAN HOOIJDONK 13 1 5 5 5 6 -37 3 38
3 NED Nic BOL Hjo BIJLEVELD Dennis GOETHALS Sander VAN DER BORCH 9 5 13 1 4 1 -29 8 41
4 NED Diederik FORMA Duncan SCHAAF Mark VAN GELDEREN 1 13 11 16 -20 9 1 6 57
5 NED Menno BRON Jimte JEPMA Remco ROOS 3 7 12 -34 8 17 6 4 57
6 NED Marijke MANUEL Lot VAN HOOIJDONK Bregje LODEWIKUS Renske VERBEEK 4 14 4 15 7 -32 8 9 61
7 NED Albert KOOIJMAN Leif TOM LOOSE Fred BULK 10 2 -16 11 14 2 9 15 63
8 NED Wik BECKER Anne LANDSTRA Ben VAN DER HOEVEN 2 6 15 7 -33 8 31 5 74
9 NED Jan WILLEM HARWIJNE Hessel VAN BENNEKOM Francois VAN VLIET 18 9 3 -24 19 3 22 1 75
10 NED Huib BANNIER Paul MANUEL Jan WILLEM LANDRE 7 4 4 9 13 (ocs) 5 34 76
Diana Bogaards (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM