The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 July 2005, 10:42 am
Former ISAF Vice-President Elected To IOC Executive Board
No ALT tag specified

IOC News

Ser Miang NG (SIN), ISAF Vice-President from 1994-1998, has been elected as a new member to the IOC Executive Board (EB) and New Zealand windsurfer, Barbara KENDALL's nomination as an IOC member has been confirmed at the 117th IOC Session in Singapore.
The 117th International Olympic Committee (IOC) Session on Saturday voted to elect NG, who in 1998 was awarded an ISAF gold medal for his contribution to the sport of sailing, as an ordinary member of the EB and confirmed KENDALL's nomination as an IOC member. The Session also elected Lambis V. NIKOLAOU (GRE) and Chiharu IGAYA (JPN) as Vice-Presidents to the EB.

As Vitaly SMIRNOV (RUS) had reached the end of his four year term on the EB and Un Yong KIM (KOR) had resigned from the IOC, there were two Vice-President positions up for election during this Session. The IOC members who stood for election to these positions were Richard Kevan GOSPER (AUS), Chiharu IGAYA (JPN), Lambis V. NIKOLAOU (GRE) and Ching-Kuo WU (TPE). Following the vote by the Session, NIKOLAOU and IGAYA were elected to the position of Vice-President of the IOC.

There was also a vote for the position of ordinary EB member due to the term of NIKOLAOU coming to an end. The two candidates for this post were Iván DIBÓS (PER) and NG. Following the withdrawal of DIBÓS before the vote, NG was elected by vote to the EB as an ordinary member.

No ALT tag specified
Barbara KENDALL's membership
of the IOC has been confirmed
© Clive Mason/Getty Images
The EB, founded in 1921, consists of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President, four Vice-Presidents and ten other members. All the members of the Executive Board are elected by the Session, by secret ballot, by a majority of votes cast, for a four year term. Amongst the other members of the EB, The President of the IOC Jacques ROGGE (BEL), is also a sailor who competed at three straight Olympic Games from 1968-1976 and a former member of the ISAF Medical Commission.

The Session also confirmed the election of KENDALL as an IOC member. She replaced Susie O'NEILL (AUS) on the IOC's Athletes' Commission following the resignation of O'NEILL from the IOC and the Athletes' Commission at the beginning of the year. KENDALL was elected to the Commission because the Commission's rules dictate that the replacement shall be the athlete from the same continent, who had the next highest number of votes in the election in which the member was elected. KENDALL therefore joined the Athletes' Commission meeting in June in Lausanne and is now an IOC member.

IOC (As Amended By ISAF). IOC President Jacques ROGGE shakes hands with Ser Miang NG:© AFP/Getty Images
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM