The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
13 October 2005, 12:33 pm
ABBOTT Takes Fourth Richardson Trophy
No ALT tag specified

U. S. Great Lakes Match Racing Championship 2005
Detroit, Michigan, USA

Bill ABBOTT, Jr. and his team including Brad BOSTON and Nick BEAUDOIN representing Lake Huron won the 2005 Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes (YRUGL) Richardson Trophy Regatta, an annual Great Lakes Match Racing Championship, scoring a convincing nine points.
It was ABBOTT's fourth Richardson Trophy win since 1984. The double round robin event was hosted at the Bayview Yacht Club and was sailed in Ultimate 20's in moderate, shifty northerly winds on the Detroit River in view of the yacht club from 8-9 October. In second place was Chris VAN TOL, representing Lake Erie, with seven points. Lars HANSEN sailing for Lake Superior was third, Adam HOLLERBACH of Detroit River Yachting Association was fourth, and Steve LOWERY of Lake Michigan was fifth, all with four points, and Kevin DOYLE of Buffalo, sailing for Lake Ontario, placed sixth with two points. This was the 76th running of the Richardson since 1912. Umpires observed that the competition between the YRUGL member association teams was especially strong this year.

Gary Hendrickson. Image, The Richardson Trophy:© Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM