The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 October 2005, 11:12 am
Start of Australian Farr 40 Season
No ALT tag specified

Corinthian Doors Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Farr 40 Regatta 2005
Port Stephens, Australia

After an exceptional finish to last season, current Farr 40 world champion Richard PERINI will line up with the fleet at the annual Corinthian Doors Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Farr 40 regatta on October 14. Peppers Anchorage at Port Stephens on the central coast of New South Wales has played host to this annual event for six years as the opening regatta for the Australian Farr 40 season.
PERINI will race with his world champion crew with tactician Hamish PEPPER joining the crew fresh from the America's Cup Acts in Trapani Italy. 'We are looking forward to the Australian season and working towards defending the World Champion title in Newport Rhode Island next year,' commented PERINI.

Also heading north to Port Stephens will be class regular Lang WALKER and the Kokomo crew. WALKER, who over the last few months since the 2005 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship, has been busy racing with the Mediterranean, East Coast USA and the Great Lakes USA Farr 40 fleets, most recently coming fourth in the North American Championship held in Chicago.

Newcomer to the class Don TELFORD, who purchased Neville CRICHTON'S Shockwave after he finished second in the 2005 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship, will be racing Rushcutter at Port Stephens.

Brett NEILL from New Zealand will be racing with the Australian fleet keeping his boat Venom in Sydney for the upcoming season. South Australia will be represented by David URRY'S War Games who remained in Sydney after the Rolex Farr 40 Worlds. Steve O'ROURKE will be back with Panther after recently racing at the Etchells World Championship in San Francisco USA.

Joining the fleet racing as Quantum Racing will be Ray ROBERTS racing with current 11 metre world champion Steve MCCONAGHY as tactician.

Following the Corinthian Doors Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Farr 40 regatta in the Australian Farr 40 2005-06 season will be the Rhodes Waterside Farr 40 Regatta, being held October 28-30 at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club at Pittwater.

Sam Crichton
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM