The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
23 August 2005, 02:33 pm
Townend Wins Third Title
No ALT tag specified

Fireball World Championship 2005
Teignmouth, Devon, Great Britain

Going into the final day of the Holt Fireball World Championships it was all very close at the top of the leader board. With the prospect of at least two races and discards kicking in there was the potential for significant change in the results.
Heading the leader board were the 2004 World Champion Andy SMITH and Jonny MILDRED (GBR)on 22 points from the 2003 World Champions Chips HOWARTH and Vyv TOWNEND (GBR) on 26 points.

The forecast was for a strong gradient breeze and out on the race course it was blowing a good 15 to 20 knots. It was the turn of local sailors Malcolm DAVIES and Ian CADWALLADER (GBR) to show the fleet the way around the race course and take the win in race five from Dave WADE and Richard WAGSTAFF (GBR) in second place.

Significantly as far as the over all lead was concerned it was HOWARTH/TOWNEND that took third place in race five while SMITH/MILDRED were down in twenty third place. Going into the next race it would be advantage to HOWARTH/TOWNEND.

At the start of race six it was looking increasingly likely that this would be the final race of the series. The race officer would simply not have enough time to get all the boats finished and reset the course within the time limit for the warning signal on the final day.

The wind had dropped to 12 to 15 knots by the start of race six. It was last weeks winners and new 2005 European Champions DJ EDWARDS and Dan NEWMAN (GBR) who showed their best form to take the race win from Guy TIPTON and Chris TATTERSALL (GBR) in second and Tomas MUSIL and Jan STANTEJSKY (CZE) in third. With HOWARTH/TOWNEND keeping a loose cover on SMITH/MILDRED during the entire race, HOWARTH/TOWNEND came home in seventh place while SMITH/MILDRED were in tenth place.

With insufficient time for the race officer to sail another race within the prescribed time limit Chips HOWARTH and Vyv TOWNED are the 2005 Fireball World Champions from Andy SMITH and Jonny MILDRED in second and Guy TIPTON and Chris TATTERSALL in third.

A special mention must go to Vyv TOWNEND who is the first crew to have won the Fireball World Championships on three separate occasions.

Final Results - Top Ten

Pos Nation Helm Crew Race1 Race2 Race3 Race4 Race5 Race6 Points
1 GBR Chips HOWARTH Vyv TOWNEND 1 17 3 5 3 7 19
2 GBR Andy SMITH Jonny MILDRED 13 1 7 1 23 10 32
3 GBR Guy TIPTON Chriss TATTERSALL 6 19 2 59 5 2 34
4 GBR Richard ESTAUGH Rob GARDNER 24 4 18 7 4 5 38
5 GBR David EDWARDS Dan NEWMAN 25 2 4 18 17 1 42
6 CZE Tomas MUSIL Jan STANTEJSKY 3 3 11 25 42 3 45
7 GBR Shane MACCARTHY Andy THOMPSON 5 15 26 4 12 11 47
8 GBR David WADE Richard WAGSTAFF 32 5 14 19 2 8 48
9 GBR Paul CULLEN Jonathon CHING 12 88 25 2 11 4 54
10 GBR Malcolm DAVIES Ian CADWALLADER 4 52 23 26 1 14 68
Uk Fireball Class Association (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM