The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 August 2005, 08:01 am
ECHAVARRI And PAZ Add European Crown To World Title
No ALT tag specified

Tornado European Championship 2005
Västervik, Sweden

Fernando ECHAVARRI and Anton PAZ (ESP) sailed to a convincing victory in the ISAF Grade C1 Tornado European Championship in Västervik, Sweden to complete a fantastic year for the Spanish pair. Back in June they claimed the World title and rose to the top of the ISAF World Sailing Rankings and yesterday they completed their fourth victory of the year, beating Olympic Champions Roman HAGARA and Hans Peter STEINACHER (AUT) by an impressive 16 points.
Two races were sailed on the final day in Västervik and ECHAVARRI and PAZ were able to keep their cool, whilst last year's winners and their closest challengers Darren BUNDOCK and Aaron WORRALL (AUS) had a terrible day and fell back to seventh overall. Whilst the Australians were struggling, ECHAVARRI and PAZ sailed scored a fifth and a fourth place, to make it six consecutive top five finishes since a 29th in race one, and win the Championship by a comfortable margin.

HAGARA and STEINACHER took advantage of the problems of BUNDOCK and WORRALL by finishing sixth and then scoring the final bullet of the Championship to take second place above last year's top European team Mitch BOOTH and Herbert DERCKSEN (NED). They came from nowhere on the final day to take two third place finishes and the bronze medal.

For HAGARA and STEINACHER it proved to be a frustrating Championship. Whilst ECHAVARRI and PAZ sailed consistently throughout the regatta, the Spanish pair never managed to win any of the seven races. HAGARA and STEINACHER meanwhile took victory three times, but were unable to score any other top five finishes.

Top Ten Results

Pos Nation Helm Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 Pts
1 ESP Fernando ECHAVARRI Antón PAZ (29) 2 3 2 2 5 4 18
2 AUT Roman HAGARA Hans Peter STEINACHER 1 (19) 9 16 1 6 1 34
3 NED Mitch BOOTH Herbert DERCKSEN (OCS) 5 1 9 20 3 3 41
4 FRA Xavier REVIL Christophe ESPAGNON (18) 3 17 8 4 8 9 49
5 FRA Francois MORVAN Matthieu VANDAME 5 7 (29) 1 7 17 13 50
6 USA John LOVELL Charlie OGLETREE 10 (16) 5 15 11 4 5 50
7 AUS Darren BUNDOCK Aaron WORRALL (23) 4 2 6 8 22 20 62
8 GER Johannes POLGAR Florian SPALTEHOLZ 16 (23) 7 20 23 1 2 69
9 GER Roland GAEBLER Gunnar STRUCKMANN 20 1 (23) 11 12 7 18 69
10 FRA Matthieu SOUBEN Gurvan BONTEMPS (43) 10 27 5 6 16 7 71
ISAF. Image:© Mikael Sundheden
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM