The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
28 August 2005, 05:30 pm
Matteo SIMONCELLI Maintains His Lead At The 2005 Knickerbocker Cup
No ALT tag specified

Knickerbocker Cup 2005
Port Washington, New York, USA

Matteo SIMONCELLI (ITA), ITway Match Race Team, with crew Cesare TRIOSCHI, Luigi VIALE and Gian Matteo PAULIN have maintained their lead at the completion of the Full Round Robin on Day Three at the 2005 Knickerbocker Cup.
It was the last match in Flight 22 that gave the ITway team their first place position. Sailing against Ian WILLIAMS (GBR) to the finish line, it was a neck-to-neck dual on the last downwind leg, when WILLIAMS doused his spinnaker, but the Italians took a chance, kept their spinnaker flying and caught the Brits at the finish line and won the race, giving them eight points to take the lead.

Positions 2 - 6 were decided on tie- breakers, with Mark CAMPBELL-JAMES (GBR) capturing second place, Ian WILLIAMS (GBR) third, and Simon MINOPRIO (NZL) rounding out the top four. Terry MCLAUGHLIN (CAN), who has won the Knickerbocker Cup for the past two years, was given 5th place on a tie-breaker, as was next in line, Brian ANGEL (USA) who was 6th.

Bruce COOK, Chief Umpire said, it was a 'terrific day, great weather, saw great racing, the race committee did a terrific job, and we have a great line up for the semi - finals and finals. The top ISAF - ranked people who are here are the ones in the final four - though not in the order of their ranking.'

Match racing doesn't get better than this - out of the 12 teams, nine positions were decided on tie-breakers. Sunday's racing should prove to be just as exciting, as the top four teams are very closely matched. By end of day, though, only one team will be crowned the winner and have their name engraved on the Cup along with past winners, some of whom are Ed BAIRD (USA) (three times), Dave PERRY (USA) (two times), Terry MCLAUGHLIN (two times), Paul CAYARD (USA) Russell COUTTS, Peter GILMOUR (AUS), and Roy HEINER (NED).

Results as of Saturday, August 27, 2005

Matteo SIMONCELLI (ITA) 1st 9 points

Mark CAMPBELL-JAMES (GBR) 2nd 8 points

Ian WILLIAMS ((GBR) 3rd 8 points

Simon MINOPRIO (NZL) 4th 8 points

Terry MCLAUGHLIN (CAN) 5th 6 points

Brian ANGEL (USA) 6th 6 points

Laurie JURY ((NZL) 7th 5 points

Scott DICKSON (USA) 8th 4 points

Peter WIBROE (DEN) 9th 4 points

Martin ANGSELL (SWE) 10th 3 points

Jon SINGSEN (USA) 11th 3 points

Christian HAMILTON (GRA) 12th 2 points

Andrea Watson (As Amended By ISAF) Image: © Event Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM