The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 January 2005, 06:34 am
Sailors Shortlisted for 2004 SportsMan, SportsWoman and Team of the Year Honours
No ALT tag specified

United States Olympic Committee

The United States Olympic Committee today announced the nominees for its 2004 SportsMan, SportsWoman and Team of the Year honours. The nominees are the 2004 Athletes and Teams of the Year representing Olympic, Pan American and Affiliated Sport Organizations within the U.S. Olympic Movement.
Each year the USOC recognizes the top male and top female athletes and the top team as selected by their respective member organizations. The names of the athletes and teams are placed on ballots used to select the USOC SportsMan, SportsWoman and overall Team of the Year. Members of the USOC Board of Directors along with representatives of the national media participate in the voting to select the USOC SportsMan, SportsWoman and Team of the Year.

Honored last year for their accomplishments in 2003 were cyclist Lance Armstrong, figure skater Michelle Kwan and the U.S. Women's Gymnastics Team.

Forty-nine males and 49 females, as well as 39 teams, are being honored by the USOC for their athletic accomplishments in 2004. Included in the multi-sports line-up are the following accomplished sailors and Olympic Gold Medallists:

2004 Male Athletes of the Year
Sailing: Johnny LOVELL (New Orleans, La.)

2004 Female Athletes of the Year
Sailing: Paige RAILEY (Clearwater, Fla.)

2004 Teams of the Year
Sailing: Men's 470 - Paul FOERSTER (Rockwall, Texas) and Kevin BURNHAM (Miami, Fla.)

USOC Media
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM