The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
16 October 2006, 11:19 am
Australian Youth Olympic Festival 2007
No ALT tag specified

Yachting Australia News 2006
Sydney, Australia

The Australian sailing athletes have been announced for the Australian Youth Olympic Festival (AYOF) which will take place from 18-20 January 2007.
No ALT tag specified

The AYOF is an initiative of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) and will be the fourth event of its kind since its inception in 2001. This is the first time competitors aged between 13 - 19 years of age in the sport of sailing have been offered the opportunity to experience the Olympic atmosphere.

Olympian (2000 & 2004), Jenny ARMSTRONG has been appointed Sailing Ambassador for the AYOF07. ARMSTRONG commented 'The AYOF07 is an excellent window of opportunity for young athletes, especially our Australian athletes, to experience an environment similar to that of the Olympic Games. It aims to inspire and foster young talent so they continue to strive further in their chosen sport'.

The Australian athletes were selected by their Member Yachting Association based on their outstanding performances. Some of the talented young athletes include 2006 Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Champions, Belinda KERL and Chelsea HALL (WA) and 2006 Marinassess Women's Match Racing Champion, Lucinda WHITTY (NSW).

The Australian sailing athletes are listed below by State:

South Australia
Luke HOOKINGS - Port Lincoln
Georgina KEMP - Port Lincoln
Trent NEIGHBOUR - Kingscote
Davin CONIGROVE - Goolwa
Jasmin BOYCE - Port Lincoln
Grace STOKES - Prospect

Emma PHILLIPS - Sorrento
Max TAYLOR - Brighton
Amy KIVELL - Mentone
Sam KIVELL - Mentone
Ben GUNTHER - Brighton
Jacqueline GURR - Aspendale Gardens

Jess ATHERTON - Kingston Beach
Lauren HOLLOWAY - Taroona
Lucy SHEPARD - Sandy Bay
David FLETCHER - West Launceston
Julian SLATER - West Hobart
Michael SYMONDS - East Wynyard

Western Australia
Belinda KERL - Mosman Park
Chelsea HALL - Shoalwater Bay
David GILMOUR - Cottesloe
Luke PARKINSON - Beconsfield
Nadia PUNSELIE - Nedlands
Peter NICHOLAS - Floreat

New South Wales
Edward QUARTLY - Northbridge
Lachlan DOYLE - Killara
Kieran SEARLE - Maclean
Lilly TAYLOR - Clontarf
Lucinda WHITTY - Longueville
Kimberly WILMOT - Bilgola Plateau

Klade HAUSCHILDT - Noosaville
Ryan STODDART - Murrumba Downs
Nick PEATE - Ballina
Erin GALLAGHER - Ormiston
Renee MCCALL - Yeppoon
Kerin CALLARD - Yeppoon

72 sailors from six Australian states will compete in the team racing event. In addition, teams from Great Britain, New Zealand, USA, France and Canada have been invited to join the Australian competitors for three days of intense racing with the final day having the top teams fight it out for the medals on offer. Team racing utilises an S shaped course with each match made up of six boats. Each race is approximately 10 minutes in time and then the next six teams hit the start line.

Competitors will be using the two person Pacer dinghy and the teams swap boats each time they race thereby enabling fair competition.

Sam Crichton (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Belinda KERL and Chelsea HALL in action at the 2006 Youth Worlds © onEdition
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM