The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
20 December 2005, 09:20 am
SIRs Wraps Up For Another Year
No ALT tag specified

Sydney International Regatta 2005
Sydney, Australia

Four days of racing on Sydney Harbour has seen 220 competitors race from 13 nations and all Australian states in the 2005 ISAF Grade 1 Sydney International Regatta (SIRs). Olympic, Youth and invited classes have raced in a variety of conditions that has seen some the top places in some classes remain consistent and some classes have had dramatic changes in the podium places.
The final days' racing has been in an increasing breeze from the east. The start of the morning's racing was delayed due to lack of breeze but by mid afternoon the sea breeze had kicked in for a pleasant afternoon of sailing.

The Yngling fleet was won by Athens Olympian Nicky BETHWAITE with her crew of Karyn GRONJNICH and Helen IMPEY (AUS) won with Hamish JARRETT and his crew of Trent GOLDSAK and Sara PHILLIPS (AUS) in second and class newcomer Nicky SOUTER and her crew of Angela FARRELL and Sarah WILMOT (AUS) in third.

Nathan OUTTERIDGE and Ben AUSTIN (AUS) maintained their overnight lead to win in the 49er with Emmett LAZICH and Phil MANNING (AUS) taking out second place and Clynton WADE LEHMAN and Tai ELLIOTT (AUS) completing the podium places. The Japanese pair of Kenjiro TODROKI and Kenji TAKAHASHI took out fourth place.

Matthew BELCHER and Nick BEHRENS (AUS) have maintained a strong lead in the men's 470 over the course of the regatta to win by five points from New Zealanders Geoff WOOLLEY and Mark OVERINGTON and Mattieu HIGGINS and Tim LYNCH (AUS) finishing in third.

Western Australian team of Elise RECHICHI and Tessa PARKINSON sailed well over the series to win the 470 women's division from Queensland's Lauren JEFFRIES and Rike ZIEGELMAYER with South Australian's Natalie DEWING and Catherine SHANKS completing the top three in the women's division. SHANKS will next race on her father's boat in this years Rolex Sydney Hobart race starting in six days.

Sam KIVELL and Max TAYLOR (AUS) have won in the 420 from Sam PHILLIPS and Harry MIGHELL (AUS) by 27 points with Lachlan DOYLE and Richard PLAIN (AUS) rounding out the top three.

The 18 boat 29er fleet has been very competitive over the four days of racing with Joel ROSE and Matt HODGE (AUS) taking home first place with a five point separation to brothers Clint MARSHALL and Ty MARSHALL (AUS) with Matthew VANDERVOOT and Joshua CORNFORD (AUS) two points behind them in third.

After ten races Anthony 'Nocka' NOSSITER (AUS) has again won the Finn class at SIRs with British sailor Ed WRIGHT (GBR) filling the second place and Victorian Ricky IRONMONGER slipping into third on the last day of racing. New Zealand's Nik BURFOOT finished in fourth.

The Moth class with foils has made a huge impression on the SIRs fleet and sailing on Sydney harbour. Moth foiler aficionado Rohan VEAL (AUS) led the class for the first three days of the regatta but unfortunately could not sail in the last day. Even with a Did Not Compete on his scorecard VEAL has taken out the class from Scott BABBAGE (AUS) by three points and Chris DEY (AUS) finished in third.

With the Toshiba OK Dinghy World Championship being held on Lake Macquarie in February 2006, the racing in the OK Dinghy class was fierce within the 13 boat fleet. Two points separates winner Mick MCQUEEN from second placed Peter HORNE with Nick GRAY taking out third place.

The Laser 4.7's has been dominated by Keiran SEARLE (AUS) winning by eight points from Jonothan DAWES (AUS) with Victorian Ben LAYCOCK (AUS) rounding out the trio.

Krystal WEIR (AUS) won the Laser Radial class by two points from Zac SKULANDER (AUS) with New Zealander Miranda POWRIE taking third place. Series leader Sarah BLANCK (AUS) was unable to race the last two days of racing and slipped back from the top three in the fleet to 19th.

New Zealander Andrew MURDOCH sailed well on the last day to beat Australian Tom SLINGSBY by five points with fellow New Zealander Michael BULLOT finishing third. Canadian Michael LEIGH ended up in fourth after the ten race series.

In the Tornado, Darren BUNDOCK and Glenn ASHBY (AUS) have led from start to finish for the four days of racing to finish on twelve points, four ahead of British pair Leigh MCMILLAN and William HOWDEN (GBR). Greek pair Iordanis PASCHALIDIS and Trigonis KOSCANCINOS maintained their third place to complete the podium spots.

Hungary's Aron GADORFALVI won on the the RS: X boards from Australian board sailor Corey PLANT. Australia's number one ranked board sailor Jonathan BONNITCHA finished third.

SIRs dates for 2006 are currently planned for 16-19 December. Yachting New South Wales as SIRs organizers would like to thank Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, Woollahra Sailing Club, Royal Prince Edward Yacht Club, Ronstan and Zhik and the members of the jury for their assistance with this year's event and the competitors who raced over the four days.

For a complete list of all the news about the Sydney International Regatta CLICK HERE.

Sam Crichton (As Amended by ISAF). Image, The Tornado in full flight:© Christophe LAUNAY
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM