The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 February 2006, 11:35 am
No ALT tag specified

Inner Circle Rum Farr 40 Regatta 2006
Sydney, Australia

Two days of close one design racing has handed World Champion Richard PERINI's (AUS) Evolution the win for the 2006 Inner Circle Rum Farr 40 Regatta in Sydney, Australia. Raced on the Palm Beach Circle off Sydney's picturesque Palm Beach, twelve boats raced over two days and six races.
No ALT tag specified

A 15 knot north easter set up ideal racing conditions for the first day of racing for the fleet with a slight swell making for close racing. A couple of costly early starts saw a number of boats having to return to restart during the days racing. PERINI's scorecard after day one of racing was looking good with a total of four points and a separation of seven points to second placed Matt ALLEN (AUS) with Ichi Ban. Don TELFORD's (AUS) Rushcutter had ALLEN in his sights trailing by only two points.

Sunday and the fleet were greeted with a very light north easter that saw a top breeze of seven knot and the race committee deciding to shorted the course when the breeze eventually dropped out completely. Ray ROBERTS' (AUS) Quantum Racing committed to the left hand side of the course which paid big dividends and had them winning the shortened race.

It was then nearly a two hour postponement before the breeze swung and filled in from the south to get the final two race of the regatta sailed in a twelve knot southerly. Lang WALKER's (AUS) Kokomo improved on their day one results to win race five after leading the fleet from start to finish. PERINI and ALLEN fought it out for second and third respectively with the top three places separated by only twelve seconds.

Blacksnake Claims Final Bullet

The final race of the event went to Michael MILNE's (AUS) Blacksnake, who followed in Kokomo's footsteps from the previous race and held onto pole position from the start to finish guns.

Returning to the fleet this weekend was Steve O'ROURKE's (AUS) Panther with Mumm 30 owner Anthony PATERSON (AUS) steering in O'ROURKE's absence on Sunday. Joining the fleet for the first time in Farr 40 class racing is Tasmania's Hughie LEWIS (AUS) and his Euro Central crew from Hobart.

'We're pleased with the result and are looking forward to the Nationals next weekend. It was great to have the twelve boats racing and we will have 13 at the Nationals which will be a good fleet to race,' commented PERINI.

The final event for the Australian Farr 40 fleet will be the Hamilton Island Farr 40 Australian Championship being held 3-5 March at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club. Also being decided will be the winner of the Australian Farr 40 Circuit point score for 2005-2006.

Sam CRICHTON (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Evolution took the honours in Sydney:© Carlo BORLENGHI/Rolex
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM