The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
21 February 2006, 12:13 pm
470 Sailors Honoured By AIS
No ALT tag specified

Yachting Australia News

470 World Champions Malcolm PAGE and Nathan WILMOT (AUS) were today announced as the Australian Institute of Sport's Team of the Year at a ceremony in Canberra. The pair won their second consecutive gold medal in the Men's 470 at last year's World Championship held in San Francisco, USA.
No ALT tag specified

It was the first time a male crew had won back-to-back World Championships in 22 years and the fourth World Championship medal for WILMOT and PAGE since they began sailing together in 2001.

The head coach of the AIS and Australian Sailing, Victor KOVALENKO praised WILMOT and PAGE for their outstanding achievement.

'To win one World Championship is an incredible feat but to do it two years in a row speaks volumes for the talent of both Malcolm and Nathan,' KOVALENKO said.

'They not only defeated 64 of the finest crews from throughout the world last year but did so with two races to spare.'

WILMOT and PAGE took out the AIS Team of the Year award from a world class field that included the Australian Women's Eight crew and the Australian Men's Hockey team.

WILMOT and PAGE are part of Yachting Australia's Olympic Programme which is funded and supported by the Australian Government, through the Australian Sports Commission and the Australian Institute of Sport.

Alastair SNELL (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Malcolm PAGE and Nathan WILMOT with their awards:© AIS
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM