The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
28 September 2006, 06:00 am
Nominations Accepted For US SAILING's Yachtsman And Yachtswoman Of The Year Awards
No ALT tag specified


Throughout the busy 2006 sailing season, many U.S. sailors have achieved impressive regatta results at home and abroad. Starting 27 September, US SAILING is accepting nominations for its Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards, considered the highest individual sailing honours in the country.
No ALT tag specified

Through 30 November 2006, US SAILING members can nominate the male and female sailors who they think have turned in the most outstanding performances on the water in this calendar year and have earned their places in the history books. The nominations are accepted online at US SAILING's website at

US SAILING's Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards are presented annually to the individual U.S. sailors who demonstrate excellence through outstanding on the water achievement at national and/or international events during the calendar year. Nick SCANDONE and Sally BARKOW won this prestigious distinction in 2005, joining a long list of sailing legends, including Betsy ALISON, Ed BAIRD, Paul CAYARD, Dennis CONNER, Paul FOERSTER, Steve FOSSETT, JJ ISLER, John KOSTECKI, Dawn RILEY, Cory SERTL, Jody SWANSON and Ted TURNER.

At the conclusion of the nomination period, a shortlist of nominees is presented to a panel of noted sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each and vote by secret ballot to determine the award winners. In February 2007, the winners each will be presented with a specially engraved Rolex timepiece and the perpetual Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Trophy: a Steuben crystal interpretation of the yacht America.

Marlieke EATON (As Amended By ISAF). Image, The Rolex Trophy:© US SAILING
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM