The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 November 2006, 06:49 pm
CAPOZZI Leads Team To Title
No ALT tag specified

US Women's Match Racing Championship 2006
Newport Beach, California, USA

Deb CAPOZZI (USA) led her team to victory at the ISAF Grade 3 US Women's Match Racing Championship, defeating the team of Katie PILLEY-LOVELL (USA) at the final in Newport Beach, California, USA.
By the time the teams for the finals were lined up on Saturday, spectators were in for a treat, and the finalists did not disappoint. The finals put the team led by CAPOZZI up against another very strong outfit skippered by PILLEY-LOVELL. After a hard fought battle, CAPOZZI and her crew of Lindsay BARTEL (USA), Kelly HAND (CAN) and Chantal LEGLER (CAN) took home the national championship title. The US Women's Match Racing Championship, sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A., Inc. and Dry Creek Vineyard was hosted by Newport Harbor Yacht Club in Newport Beach, and raced on Governor Cup 21s.

No Easy Win

It certainly was no easy win for CAPOZZI, particularly in the finals. CAPOZZI won the first race in the finals, but PILLEY-LOVELL - sailing with Chafee EMORY (USA), Deb WILLITS (USA) and Tara THOMAS (USA) - dug back in the second race to tie the series. Race 3 saw a great battle between the two, with CAPOZZI barely taking the win.

After changing boats, the two teams went back at it. After a very exciting pre-start, CAPOZZI was able to control off the line, then used great boat speed to stay out in front, even with PILLEY-LOVELL and her team finding some great pressure and advantageous lifts. CAPOZZI cruised across the line to take the fourth match and win the title. CAPOZZI, who was on the winning boat last year, and her crew took home US SAILING's Allegra Knapp Mertz Trophy as the 2006 US Women's Match Racing Champions.

By winning US SAILING's US Women's Match Racing Championship, CAPOZZI has been presented with the Allegra Knapp Mertz Trophy and has qualified for a position on the starting line at the 2007 Mayor's Cup, an ISAF Grade 2 event. For PILLEY-LOVELL, this was the second consecutive year she has won the Mrs. Charles Adams Trophy.


In the petit-final, Liz BAYLIS (USA) and her team of Melinda ERKELENS (USA), Pease GLASER (USA) and Jo Ann JONES (USA) defeated the team led by Sandy HAYES (USA) and her crew Kelly DALE (USA), Lee ICYDA (USA) and Amanda CALLAHAN (USA).

Marlieke Eaton (As Amended By ISAF)). Image, Deb CAPOZZI led her team to victory:© Dan Nerney/Rolex
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM