The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
27 November 2005, 09:30 am
Barker Wins
No ALT tag specified

New Zealand Match Racing Championship
Waitemata Harbour, New Zealand

Emirates Team New Zealand helmsman Dean BARKER sailed into today's finals with a clear lead over the competition. BARKER selected to race 22 year old Simon MINOPRIO (Vision Yachting).
This left BMW Oracle racing skipper Chris DICKSON to sail Cameron Appleton (K-Challenge).

In the first race BARKER beat MINOPRIO by 35 seconds, but in the second race MINOPRIO lead from start to finish taking the win by 9 seconds. Race 3 and the winner would go through to the finals. It was a tough battle right from the start, with MINOPRIO leading BARKER to the top mark for the first time. MINOPRIO then picked up a penalty for hitting the top mark.

At the top mark for the last time MINOPRIO had a 5 boat length advantage and there were numerous gybes and luffs on the run as MINOPRIO tried to clear his penalty by getting one on BARKER. Coming into the Committee Boat, BARKER got the inside and was able to sneak home as MINOPRIO completed his penalty turn on the line. This secured a finals place for BARKER and crew.

In the other semi final DICKSON bet APPLETON twice to secure his spot in the finals.

In the petit final APPLETON beat MINOPRIO by 12 seconds in the first race and 6 seconds in the second to secure third place for the regatta.

In the finals DICKSON and BARKER went head to head for 5 straight matches leaving the decider to the fifth and final match. The lead changed numerous times but BARKER sailed home to win the final race by 12 seconds and the New Zealand championships for the 3rd time.

Following his third place, APPLETON will be invited to fill the last available spot in the ISAF Grade 1 Auckland Match Racing Cup, which will take place between ten skippers and their crews on the Waitemata Harbour across five days beginning 25 January. BARKER and DICKSON have already been invited to take part.

In January, APPLETON will compete against some of the best sailors in the world including number one-ranked Ed BAIRD (Team Alinghi) and Sebastian COL (K-Challenge).

Auckland Match Racing Cup organiser Dave STEWART of Springs Promotions congratulated Cameron APPLETON and wished him and his crew the best of luck in the January competition.


Flight One
Barker beat Minoprio by 35 sec
Dickson beat Appleton by 22 secs

Flight Two
beat Barker by 9 secs
Dickson beat Appleton DNF

Flight Three
beat Minoprio by 26 secs


Flight One
beat Minoprio by 29 secs
Dickson beat Barker DSQ

Flight Two
beat Minoprio by 6 secs
Barker beat Dickson by 32 secs

Flight Three
beat Dickson by 50 secs

Flight Four
beat Barker DNF

Flight Five
beat Dickson by 12 secs

Sara Roberts
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM