The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
26 November 2006, 05:48 pm
ECHAVARRI And PAZ Take The Honours
No ALT tag specified

Tornado South American Championship 2006
San Isidro, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Fernando ECHAVARRI and Anton PAZ (ESP) finished the ISAF Grade C1 Tornado South Americans in fine style, securing the Lars Grael Trophy for overall victory thank to a bullet in a final windy race in San Isidro, Argentina. In sixth place overall, Santiago LANGE and Carlos ESPINOLA (ARG) were crowned South American Champions.
The wind did not drop overnight and day four of the South Americans started with strong winds and gusts of over 27 knots. Luckily the wind force started dropping around 11:00 and by 12:30, with an easterly of 18-20 knots, the Tornados left the Club Nautico San Isidro for races 7 and 8.

In race 7 Rob WILSON and Mark BULKELEY (GBR) took the bullet after leading by far, all the way. Francesco MARCOLINI and Eduardo BIANCHI (ITA), second in the race, did not have competition either. The fight was between ECHAVARRI and PAZ and Carolijn BROUWER and Sebbe GODEFROID (BEL), the only mixed crew taking part in the event. The Spanish took the best and finished third, followed by the Belgiums.

Wind Increases

The wind picked up for race 8, 20 knots with gusts of 23 knots. The Race Officer, Roberto 'Tino' MORA, was impressed with the Tornados, 'The speed they can reach it's absolutely amazing. It took some of the boats less than 11 minutes to complete one lap. Even the capsizings were a show!.'

Race winner PAZ explained, 'We sailed the whole race together with Mitch BOOTH [(NED)], very close. Darren BUNDOCK [(AUS)] and Jojo POLGAR [(GER)] were behind us so any mistake could cost us the Championship. We chose not to loose control of the situation by risking too much.' The Spanish team won the race with BOOTH and Pim NIEUWENHIS (NED) in second. WILSON and BULKELEY had another good result finishing in third.

The Spanish team finished first overall and were the winners of the Lars Grael Trophy. BUNDOCK and Glenn ASHBY (AUS) came in second, with POLGAR and Florian SPALTEHOLZ (GER) third.

Argentineans LANGE and ESPINOLA, who finished sixth overall and recently won the Tornado Argentinean Championship, are the 2006 South American Champions. The Brazilians Bruno DI BERNARDO and Andre CHANG finished as runners up.

Top Ten Results
Pos Nation Helm Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 Pts
1 ESP Fernando ECHAVARRI Anton PAZ 8 (14) 12 2 6 8 3 1 40
2 AUS Darren BUNDOCK Glenn ASHBY (10) 9 7 7 9 1 5 7 45
3 GER Johannes POLGAR Florian SPALTEHOLZ 6 4 11 6 2 (33) DNF 12 6 47
4 NED Mitch BOOTH Pim NIEUWENHIS 16 (33) DNF 9 5 7 4 6 2 49
5 GBR Rob WILSON Mark BULKELEY 15 22 (23) 8 1 3 1 3 53
6 ARG Santiago LANGE Carlos ESPINOLA 3 6 (33) OCS 11 10 9 7 11 57
7 FRA Olivier BACKES Paul SEVESTRE 1 (23) 22 9 4 16 14 13 79
8 GBR Andrew WALSH Edward BARNEY 17 20 (26) 3 13 10 13 5 81
9 NED Mischa HEEMSKERK Herbert DERCKSEN 4 25 24 (33) DNF 5 5 10 8 81
10 USA John LOVELL Charlie OGLETREE 5 (21) 20 15 8 11 15 12 86

For all the news on Tornado South American Championship CLICK HERE.

Patricia Kirschner (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Fernando ECHAVARRI and Anton PAZ won the South Americans:© Benoit Hervochon/AF Tornado
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM