The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
30 January 2006, 11:54 am
Dramatic Final Day
No ALT tag specified

Dubai Junior Regatta 2006
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

The 100 plus young sailors gather in the United Arab Emirates brought the Dubai Junior Regatta to a close yesterday, with plenty to celebrate for the home fans as the UAE claimed the regatta's Laser 4.7 team title as well as the Dubai Trophy as the best team overall. Meanwhile Italy captured the Optimist crown.
In a fitting final day the Dubai Junior Regatta reached an exciting and tense conclusion, with both the individual Optimist and Laser 4.7 titles being decided by countback.

Denmark's Jes Lyhne BONDE eventually edged out Leonardo DUBBINI to clinch the Optimist crown after taking third place in the final trophy race to tie the Italian who had finished the final contest in sixth spot.

After an epic battle in the Lasers, the Netherlands' Rolph OUDSHOORN won the title on a countback from Rudy MCNEILL (RSA), thanks to second place in the trophy race as the South African finished fourth.

Overnight leader Kristian Ibsen KIRKETERP of Denmark clinched the Optimist Junior title by winning the final day's trophy race from Jebel Ali Sailing Club's (JASC) James BYWATER, who finished overall runner up, just ahead of Italian Michele BENAMATI.

Another JASC challenger, Oliver GROGONO, finished third in the final race to take seventh place overall while KIRKETERP's twin brother, Kåre, gave the family a second top ten spot.

Fifth place on the day saw Sweden's Emma OLJELUND just hold off the challenge of Italian Roberta CAPUTA to take the Optimist Female title, with Sweden's Clara SVENSDOTTER completing the overall top three. Denmark's Tine Lyhne BONDE won the final trophy race to finish fifth overall.

The Laser 4.7 female title was won in emphatic style by Sweden's Cecilia STROMBECK whose trophy race victory extended her overnight lead from Belgium's Charlotte CHAUVIER. Jebel Ali Sailing Club's Alexa SOAR grabbed the other podium place, while Dubai Offshore Sailing Club's Tara GILLESPIE and Denise HERRERA were sixth and tenth overall respectively.]

Narayan MARAR (As Amended by ISAF). Image, Action from Dubai:© Jorge FERRARI
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM