The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
12 November 2005, 02:22 am
Ready For Leg One
No ALT tag specified

Volvo Ocean Race 2005-2006
Vigo, Galicia, Spain

His Majesty King Juan Carlos I of Spain will bless the Volvo Ocean Race fleet when they depart today, Saturday 12 November on the 6,400 nautical mile leg from Vigo, Spain to Cape Town, South Africa. With less than 24 hours to go to the start, the teams are now on their way to Vigo in a parade of sail and the crew lists for the leg have been announced.
The Mayor of Vigo Corina PORRO, the Minister of Culture and Sport Anxelo BUGALLO and the Director of Sports Santiago DOMINGUEZ will welcome the teams when they arrive in Vigo.

Winner of the first in port race, Swedish entry Ericsson, has a psychological advantage and this will give the team a confidence boost as they line up for the start. This will be the British skipper Neal MCDONALD's fourth round the world race and he has put together a team of experienced sailors, all of whom have sailed at least once in this event.

Brazil's first entry in this event (second in the in port race), is led by five times Olympic medalist Torben GRAEL (BRA). Although GRAEL is a relative newcomer to offshore sailing, he is a definite cause for concern among his opponents. His Australian navigator, Adrienne CAHALAN, is certainly no stranger to offshore sailing, having circumnavigated the globe on several occasions.

CAHALAN has had her head in charts since she arrived in Sanxenxo and has been keeping a close eye on the weather patterns, 'there will be some very tactical points on this first leg, especially going north to south in the Atlantic, some of it will be boat speed related but much of it is tactical. For the first few days we may see a drag race but then a lot can happen and I am really looking forward to it.'

The very experienced team of Pirates of the Caribbean was one of the last to arrive in Sanxenxo. Skipper Paul CAYARD (USA), who won the race in 1997-1998 onboard EF Language, has surrounded himself with a highly skilled team.

It is predicted that 1,500 boats will watch the start, with many cheering on the home favourite movistar. Dutch skipper, Bouwe BEKKING, is one of the most talented sailors in the race having completed four round the world races. Already movistar has broken the 24 hour speed record, clocking up the most sea miles amongst the fleet.

After a disappointing performance during the inshore race, the two ABN AMRO teams will be hoping that the predicted breezy conditions at the start of the leg will suit their boats and help them get off to a quick start. Mike SANDERSON (NZL) skipper of ABN AMRO ONE commented, 'The forecast looks exciting and it will be interesting to see what pace everyone goes out at. It will be a very interesting first night and the trick will be to match the pace of the others.'

The young crew onboard ABN AMRO TWO, all aged between 21-31 are keen to get going. For many it will be their first round the world race but under the leadership of single handed sailor Sebastien JOSSE (FRA) they are guaranteed to be highly competitive.

Navigator Simon FISHER (GBR) said, 'Everyone on our boat is looking forward to getting out racing. I think we will have conditions that our boats will revel in.'

Aussies Get Sponsor

The final boat to the start line will be the Australian entry, Premier Challenge. On Friday morning the boat was renamed Sunergy and Friends after Dutch company Sunergy stepped in to provide some much needed funds for Grant WHARINGTON's (AUS) team. For months it has been touch and go as to whether WHARINGTON would make it to the start in Vigo.

Rotterdam based Benno WIERSMA, founder and shareholder of Sunergy, a company which specializes in solar-cell technology said, 'We have all been impressed by the drive and ambition of this crew to get ready against all odds. They are an incredibly professional and determined group of guys and have a strong and exceptionally well built boat. This mirrors our ambition to let the world know that solar energy is a must. We have to strive to achieve our goals.'

The first ocean leg of the Volvo Ocean Race gets underway at 1400 hours local time when HM King Juan Carlos I will fire the starting gun from the Swedish tall ship Götheborg.

Even though the fleet will disappear over the horizon quickly, their progress can be followed online at and on television. Avid internet surfers can download Virtual Spectator and follow the race from their PC's. They will be able to watch and analyze the progress of each leg in six-hourly sections, with the ability to see the race unfold from onboard as well as from a global viewpoint.

For armchair sailors, unique television deals have been set up with partner broadcasters, enabling viewers all over the world to watch on a weekly basis.

Viewing Details

  • Great Britain - ITV4 Friday nights at 1800. ITV1 will show a monthly hour long programme on Sundays at 1300 from January.
  • Australia - Channel Ten: 2330 on Monday nights.
  • New Zealand - TV3 starting in January (Sundays) on its weekend sports show.
  • USA - CNBC weekly from 19 November 1700. Hourly special in July 2006 on ABC and ESPN.
  • Norway - NRK Fridays at 2100 and Saturdays at 2300.
  • Spain - live start TVE2 and TV Galicia on Saturday with weekly shows on TVE2 at 2030.
  • Italy - Rai Sat Mondays 2230. Regular reports in weekend sports shows on the main RAI channel.
  • Netherlands - NOS reports from the race every Sunday in Studio Sport
  • Finland - CHA4 1130 on Saturdays.
  • Russia - NTV Plus preview at 2130 on 15 November and then every Tuesday at 2200.
  • South Africa -Sundays at 2100 on Super Sport.

Volvo Ocean Race Leg One Crew List


  • Brad JACKSON (NZL)
  • David ENDEAN (NZL)
  • Jan DEKKER (RSA)
  • Justin SLATTERY (IRL)
  • Sidney GAVIGNET (FRA)
  • Stan HONEY (USA)
  • Tony MUTTER (NZL)


  • Andrew LEWIS (USA)
  • George PEET (USA)
  • Luke MOLLOY (AUS)
  • Nick BICE (AUS)
  • Scott BEAVIS (NZL)
  • Sebastien JOSSE (FRA)
  • Simeon TIENPONT (NED)
  • Simon FISHER (GBR)

Brasil 1

  • Adrienne CAHALAN (AUS)
  • André FONSECA (BRA)
  • Henrique PELLICANO (BRA)
  • Horacio CARABELLI (BRA)
  • Marcelo FERREIRA (BRA)
  • Roberto BERMUDEZ (ESP)
  • Stuart WILSON (NZL)
  • Torben GRAEL (BRA)

Ericsson Racing Team

  • Anton KOLB (GER)
  • David ROLFE (NZL)
  • Guillermo ALTADILL (ESP)
  • Magnus WOXEN (SWE)
  • Richard MASON (NZL)
  • Steven HAYLES (GBR)
  • Thomas BRAIDWOOD (AUS)
  • Timothy POWELL (GBR)


  • Andrew CAPE (AUS)
  • Bouwe BEKKING (NED)
  • Jonathan SWAIN (USA)
  • Mike JOUBERT (RSA)
  • Noel DRENNAN (IRL)
  • Pepe RIBES (ESP)
  • Peter DORIEAN (AUS)
  • Xabier FERNANDEZ (ESP)

Pirates of the Caribbean

  • Curtis BLEWETT (CAN)
  • Dirk DE RIDDER (NED)
  • Fredrik LOOF (SWE)
  • Jules SALTER (GBR)
  • Justin CLOUGHER (AUS)
  • Justin FERRIS (NZL)
  • Paul CAYARD (USA)
  • Rodney ARDERN (NZL)

Sunergy and Friends

  • Adam HAWKINS (AUS)
  • Campbell FIELD (NZL)
  • Fraser BROWN (NZL)
  • Graeme TAYLOR (AUS)
  • Guy SALTER (GBR)
  • Ian WALKER (AUS)
  • Jeff SCOTT (NZL)
  • Mark THOMAS (AUS)

For a complete list of all the news about the Volvo Ocean Race 2005-2006 CLICK HERE.

Event Media (As Amended By ISAF). Image, movistar:© María Muiña
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM