The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
29 November 2005, 10:24 am
French Sailing Federation To Elect Its Sailor Of The Year
No ALT tag specified

Fédération Française de Voile News

On Monday 5 December, the Fédération Française de Voile will elect its Sailor of the Year during a "Soirée des Champions". The ceremony, traditionally organized on the first Monday of the "Paris Boat Show", will welcome the ten short listed French skippers.
The jury, chaired by the athlete Stephane DIAGANA and composed of sailing personalities, will have the role of electing the sailor most deserving the title French Sailor of the Year 2005. The Sailor of the Year 2005 will succeed the windsurfer Faustine MERRET, crowned in 2004 after winning Olympic gold in Athens.

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards this year included three French nominees - Claire LEROY, Bruno PEYRON and Vincent RIOU - who are all short listed for the French Sailor of the Year title.

The ten nominees are…

  • Jérémie BEYOU
    Winner of La Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro, French Offshore Racing Champion
  • Pascal BIDÉGORRY
    Winner of the IB Group, winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre, ORMA World Champion
  • Corentin DOUGUET
    Winner of the Transat 6'50, winner of four of the five stages of the Mini circuit
  • Fabien HENRY
    Winner of the Tour de France à la Voile, second at the Mumm 30 World Championship
  • Nicolas HUGUET
    Mistral World Champion, second at the Raceboard World Championship, winner at the Mediterranean Games
  • Claire LEROY
    Number one in the ISAF World Match Race Rankings, third at the Virtual Spectator ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship
  • Ingrid PETITJEAN and Nadège DOUROUX
    Number one in the 470 ISAF World Sailing Rankings, 470 European Champions, third at the 470 World Championship
  • Bruno PEYRON
    New round the world record in the Trophee Jules Vernes as skipper of Orange II
  • Vincent RIOU
    Winner of the Vendee Globe 2004-2005 in record breaking time
  • Xavier ROHART and Pascal RAMBEAU
    Star World Champions, third at the Star European Championship
Fédération Française de Voile (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM