The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
22 November 2005, 10:05 am
Kiwi Stars Line Up
No ALT tag specified

New Zealand National Match Racing Championship 2005
Auckland, New Zealand

Tomorrow marks the start of the ISAF Grade 3 New Zealand Match Racing Championship being held by the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron in Auckland and featuring the likes of previous ISAF Match Racing World Champions Chris DICKSON and Dean BARKER.
The Championship will be sailed in the Farr MRX's familiar to the Kiwi Match team, with BARKER set to defend the title he won a year ago.

DICKSON, Cameron APPLETON, Simon DICKEY and Brian TRUBOVICH qualified for the Championship last weekend in a very light round robin known as the feeder series. Kiwi Match were fortunate enough to qualify above this feeder series and earned a direct entry to the event. Also featuring this year is Simon MINOPRIO and his Vision Yachting team and his younger brother Adam MINOPRIO who won the MRX Winter Match Racing Series Champion series to gain entry.

The hard teams to beat will no doubt be the respected America's Cup skippers of BARKER, DICKSON and APPLETON, also looking to make an impact will be the Japanese team of Takumi NAKAMURA.

For this event the Kiwi Match team is reunited with all but one of the original members, with Laurie JURY joined by Daniel MACLEAN, Robbs HIELKEIMA, Damon JOLLIFFE and Nick BASTOW. BASTOW is replacing Brad MARSH due to illness. BASTOW was previously a member of Graeme SUTHERLANDS' Pulse team and has spent an enormous amount of time sailing the MRX's.

New Zealand National Match Racing Championship Entrants
( - ISAF World Match Race Ranking)

Brad MARSH (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM