The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 November 2005, 02:39 pm
14th Berlin Match Race Starts Today
No ALT tag specified

Berlin Match Race 2005
Berlin, Germany

Today at 1100 hours local time Andreas POCHHAMMER and Oliver WITTE, being presidents of the two hosting sailing clubs, opened the official press conference for the 14th edition of the ISAF Grade 2 Berlin Match Race.
POCHHAMMER, of Verein Seglerhaus am Wannsee, emphasized the importance of the BMW Group as the event's main sponsor acting in close cooperation with the local dealer Riller And Schnauck. He commented, 'It was due to BMW's America's Cup affiliation that today we can welcome BMW ORACLE Racing's helmsman Eric DOYLE [(USA)] as a competitor.' Furthermore he made it clear how happy he is to welcome the cable network Kabel Deutschland as a new event sponsor.

When announcing four more America's Cup teams, including the first German America's Cup team ever, United Internet Team Germany as competitor, WITTE, of Berliner Yacht Club, called this event a small edition of the America's Cup.

Jochen SCHUEMANN (GER), sport director of America's Cup Defender team Alinghi (SUI) and five time winner of Berlin Match Race has big expectations for the days to come, 'The Berlin Match Race is an extraordinary event and it is somehow special for me, since it is always a good feeling being back in Berlin.'

Mr. SCHNAUCK, representative for 'BMW - Riller und Schnauck' spoke about the sailing format since he felt that match racing is a format attractive to both sponsors and spectators, 'I believe that match racing will become even more important in the future, since it is an attractive format for the media and due to its onshore character it's good to follow for spectators.'

Further guests at the press conference included Cornelius BOUCKE of BMW Germany, DOYLE and United Internet Team Germany's Michael HESTBAEK.

Berlin Match Race Entrants
( - ISAF World Match Race Ranking)

  • Mathieu RICHARD (FRA) - 7
  • Sebatian COL (FRA) - 8
  • Staffan LINDBERG (FIN) - 10
  • Bjorn HANSEN (SWE) - 14
  • Simon MINOPRIO (NZL) - 22
  • Stefan MEISTER (GER) - 29
  • Jochen SCHUEMANN (GER) - 46
  • Francesco BRUNI (ITA) - 59
  • Dorte JENSEN (DEN) - 118
  • Markus WIESER (GER) - 191
  • Michael HESTBAEK (DEN) - Not Ranked
  • Eric DOYLE (USA) - Not Ranked
Frank Butzmann (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Action from Berlin:© Marina Könitzer
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM