The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 June 2005, 03:45 pm
HATFIELD Becomes Honourary Member Of Canadian Sailing Team
No ALT tag specified

Canadian Yachting Association News
Kingston, Ontario, Canada

The Canadian Yachting Association and Spirit of Canadian Ocean Challenges have chosen round the world sailor, Derek HATFIELD (CAN) as an Honourary Member of the Canadian Sailing Team.
Olympic Development Committee Chairman for the Canadian Sailing Team, Glen DEXTER, felt that the time was right to foster more integration between what Canadians are doing at the elite levels of our sport, whether that be at the Olympics, America's Cup, or around the world racing.

'Derek represents Canada in what is no doubt one of the Pinnacles of Sailing on the World Stage.' Commented DEXTER. 'Unfortunately, we are not able to fund his efforts, as our own Olympic Team is already under-funded in relation to the Sailing Teams of many other Countries; however, Derek's efforts and a silver medal in sailing for Canada in Athens [won by Ross MACDONALD and Mike WOLFS in the Star - Ed] are beginning to raise the profile of sailing here at home.'

HATFIELD was the Canadian entry in the 2002 Around Alone Race, a solo circumnavigation of the world. HATFIELD finished third in his first effort, sailing the 40 foot, purpose built, Spirit of Canada. HATFIELD is now building his next boat, an Open 60, in preparation to win the 2006 Around Alone Race.

'I am truly honoured to be given this position on the Canadian Sailing Team,' said HATFIELD. 'I am very proud to be a part of this great sailing team representing Canada. There have been some amazing sailors on the Canadian Team over the years and it gives me a real sense of pride to be recognized by the Canadian Yachting Association as an Honourary Member. I hope that I can do my part in raising the profile of our sport and make Canada proud as we take on the world again in 2006.'

The Canadian Sailing Team is selected annually from amongst the best sailors across the nation based on performances at World, European and domestic Championships.

The Team includes 2005 ISAF Grade 1 Miami OCR winner in the Finn, Christopher COOK, current leader of the ISAF World Sailing Rankings in the Laser Radial, Keamia RASA as well as Olympic silver medallists, MACDONALD and WOLFS. (As Amended By ISAF). Image, HATFIELD celebrates his homecoming on Spirit of Canada:© Billy Black
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM