The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 December 2011, 01:17 am
Brazilian Team Led By Albrecht Wins The Ibero-American Match Race Competition
Action from Ibero Open
Action from Ibero Open

Ibero-American Match Racing Championship
Mar del Plata, Argentina

The Porto Alegre Match Cup - 3rd Ibero-American Match Race competition ended last Sunday at Veleiros do Sul, with a victory for Samuel Albrecht's team in the Open division (men and women).
He defeated Geison Dzioubanov 2-0 in the final of a series of three regattas. Adrion Santos was in third after beating Philipp Grochtmann 3-1. Only Brazil competed in the finals. Competitors from Argentina and Mexico did not qualify.

Albrecht won the Round Robin and went 2-0 in the semifinals against Adrion Santos. The team also comprised of Frederico Sidou and Rodrigo Duarte, and they remained unbeaten in the 11 matches of the competition. The last regatta between the finalists was not as exciting as the public expected since the much awaited duels did not materialize.

"The championship served mainly to show that teams are growing in match race and there is no doubt we will soon have athletes of the highest level. For this championship I invited some friends who are experienced sailors," said Samuca. "I would also like to praise the Club's infrastructure, which helps develop these projects and strengthen sailing as a sport. That is outstanding," declared Samuca.

The fight for the third place was as stiff as championship finals should be. Philipp Grochtmann's youth crew, who competed with Vilnei Goldmeier and Lorenzo Medeiros, made their more experienced competitors really break a sweat. Adrion Santos, Lucas Ostergren and Gustavo Zipperer started the race 1-0, but lost the second match. They missed the buoy while changing directions due to a wind change. At the end, they took turns in the leading position, but in the last downwind leg Santos overtook Grochtmann.

The Ibero-American Match Race Championship started on Wednesday and the women's teams saw Renata Decnop, Gabriela Nicolino and Larissa Juck as champions. Each division had eight crews with competitors from Brazil, Argentina, Mexico and Peru.

The Porto Alegre Match Cup - 3rd Ibero-American Match Race was organized by Veleiros do Sul with the support of the International Sailing Federation (ISAF), the Ibero-American Sailing Federation (FIVELA), the Brazilian Federation of Sailing and Motorboating (CBVM), sponsored by Randon and Marcopolo through the Sports Incentive Law by the Federal Government.

Final Results
1. Samuel ALBRECHT, Frederico Sidou and Rodrigo Duarte (BRA)
2. Geison Mendes DZIOUBANOV, Mathias Melecchi and Felipe Ilha (BRA)
3. Adrion Santos, Lucas Ostergren and Gustavo Zipperer (BRA)
4. Philipp Andreas Grochtmann, Vilnei Goldmeier and Lorenzo Medeiros (BRA)
5. Diego Baialardo, Nicolás and José Tabares (ARG)
6. Santiago Rigoni, Mariano Costa and Gonzalo Mendieta (ARG)
7. Sebastián Cristina, Carlos Mues and Santiago Castillo (ARG)
8. Eliane Fierro, Cora Gonzáles Fierro and Ana Sofia Casas (MEX)
Ricardo Pedebos and Ane Meira
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM