The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 May 2007, 10:02 am
Finalists Announced For 2007 Australian Yachting Awards
No ALT tag specified

Yachting Australia News

Yachting Australia have announced the finalists for the 2007 Australian Yachting Awards. The Annual Awards recognize those who have achieved outstanding success in the sport during the 2006-07 year, as well as those who have contributed to sport over many years.
No ALT tag specified

Phil JONES, Yachting Australia CEO said, 'We are once again impressed by the number of nominations and the depth of talent within our sailing community. 2006 was an exciting year for sailing with many outstanding results by Australians at home and abroad. The Finalists announced today feature many well known sailing personalities and some names which may well feature prominently in the future'.

Following an open nomination process which started in December last year and the subsequent consideration by the Yachting Australia established Voting Academy the Finalists for the 2007 Awards are:

Female Sailor of Year Award

Male Sailor of Year Award

  • Brett BEYER (NSW)
  • Michael BLACKBURN (NSW)
  • Darren BUNDOCK (NSW) and Glenn ASHBY (VIC)
  • Mathew BELCHER and Nick BEHRENS (QLD)
  • Matt ALLEN (NSW)

Note: Voting Academy member Matt Allen took no part in the panel's deliberation for this Award category

Sailor of Year with a Disability Award

  • William SALMON and Don SCOTT (NSW)
  • Paul BORG (VIC) and Kylie FORTH (WA)
  • Pamela MURRAY (TAS)

Youth Sailor of Year Award

In addition the following recipients will receive an Award for their tireless contribution to yachting. These being:

Services to Yachting Award

  • Doug JARVIS (VIC)
  • Michael FLETCHER (NSW)
  • Phil VARDY (NSW)
  • John WINNING (NSW)

Media Award

  • Vanessa DUDLEY (NSW)

Note: Voting Academy member Vanessa Dudley took no part in the panel's deliberation for this Award category

The winners will be announced on Thursday 24 May at the waterfront venue Le Montage located in Leichhardt/Lilyfield, Sydney. Tickets for the Awards night will cost $150 each (inc. GST) tables of ten are available for $1,350 (inc GST). Tickets can be purchased by completing the booking form which is available from the Yachting Australia website -

Lara Watts (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Darren BUNDOCK and Glenn ASHBY are amongst the nominees for this year's award:© Mike Cleveland
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM