The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 June 2005, 11:51 am
Country's Top Youth Sailors To Compete For National Championship
No ALT tag specified

U.S. Youth Sailing Championship 2005
Westport, USA

In just a matter of weeks, nearly 160 of the USA's top youth sailors will arrive in Westport, USA, to compete in the US Youth Sailing Championship organized by US SAILING and hosted by Cedar Point Yacht Club. From 24 - 30 June, these young sailors, who are all under the age of 20, will race on Long Island Sound in Lasers, Laser Radials, and Club 420s to compete for the coveted National Champion title.
The list of competitors of the US Youth Championship reads like a 'Who's Who' in youth sailing and includes several current and past US Youth World Team members, Orange Bowl champions, a US Sailing Team member, and many more. The competitors were selected based on sailing resumes from a list of more than 260 applicants.

Before top-level racing begins on Monday 27 June, the Championship features three days of advanced racing clinics, led by US SAILING's Youth Development Coach Mike KALIN, who will be joined by a team of at least eight other well known sailors and US Sailing Team athletes. The event will kick off on Friday 24 June with an opening dinner at the historic Sheffield Island Lighthouse, hosted by Nautica. The dinner also features an exciting guest speaker: Olympic gold medalist Kevin BURNHAM, who will inspire all the sailors by sharing his experiences from last year's Olympic Games in Athens.

Several awards will be presented at the conclusion of the US Youth Sailing Championship. The winner of the Laser class will receive the Robert L. Johnstone Trophy, which recognizes the pioneering in community sailing and popularizing of one-design sailing for which Bob JOHNSTONE is known. JOHNSTONE was the creator of the Youth Championship and was the first committee chairman.

The winner of the Club 420 class will be awarded the Manton D. Scott Memorial Trophy, named in honour of an aspiring Olympic sailor whose life was cut short prematurely, he was electrocuted in 1973 when the mast of his boat made contact with an overhead power line.

The David M. Perry Sportsmanship Trophy was dedicated in 1989 and is awarded to the sailors who demonstrate good sportsmanship behavior. The winners of this trophy are selected based on a vote by their fellow competitors.

Marlieke Eaton
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM