The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 August 2007, 12:24 pm
New Athletes' Commission Line Up
Marcelien DE KONING
Marcelien DE KONING is part of the ISAF Athletes' Commission

ISAF Athletes' Commission

Elected on 15 July 2007, the eleven members representing the Olympic Classes on the ISAF Athletes' Commission have been confirmed.
The sailors elected represent a range of ages, nations and sailing disciplines which will ensure a huge depth of experience to the ISAF Athletes' Commission.

The ISAF Athletes' Commission represents the voice of the Olympic sailors direct to ISAF and the ISAF Executive Committee. The first meeting of the newly elected representatives will be held at the ISAF Secretariat in Great Britain over the weekend of 29-30 September 2007.

The elected members were nominated by their fellow sailors with the online voting taking place during the 2007 ISAF Sailing World Championships in Cascais, Portugal. The eleven Olympic class representatives are:

Yngling - Monica AZON (ESP)

Double World Champion at the helm of the Spanish Yngling. Last year Monica and her team of Sandra AZON and Graciela PISONERO were on their top form to win the Worlds and Europeans and take up the world #1 spot in the Yngling. Initially competed in the 470 but moved to the Yngling after it became an Olympic Class in November 2000. Finished 12th at the Athens Olympic Games.


Having competed on the Olympic circuit since 1994, Roope is one of the most experienced sailors in the Laser fleet. Represented his nation at both the Sydney and Athens Olympic Games

Laser Radial - Laura BALDWIN (GBR)

Laura started out in the Europe class back in 2001 and went on to represent Great Britain at the Athens Olympic Games in 2004. Made the switch to the Laser Radial when it became an Olympic Class in November 2004 and rose up to #3 in the ISAF World Sailing Rankings during the mid-part of 2006.

Star - Torben GRAEL (BRA)

Winner of five Olympic medals, more than any other sailor. Twice a gold medallist in the Star, most recently at the Athens Olympic Games. Also competed in the Volvo Ocean Race where he skippered the Brasil 1 entry to third place in the 2005-06 race, and in the America's Cup, most recently as tactician on Louis Vuitton Cup finalist Luna Rossa. Together with his brothers, he launched the successful Projeto Grael in 1998, a cost-free learn-to-sail programme for Brazilian kids from low income families.


Torben GRAEL (BRA) stood down from the position because of his commitments with the Volvo Ocean Race. Mark REYNOLDS (USA), who was also nominated to the position, is his replacement.

Star - Mark REYNOLDS (USA)

A three-time Olympic medallist in the Star. Together with crew Magnus LILJEDAHL won the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award in 2000 after winning second Olympic gold medal in Sydney (the first came in Barcelona in 1992). Also won silver in Seoul in 1988 and is a two-time (1995 and 2000) Star World Champion.

Tornado - Enrique FIGUEROA (PUR)

A familiar name in the Tornado fleet and a veteran of the Sydney and Athens Olympic Games (finishing eighth and seventh respectively). Enrique is a multiple World Champion in Hobie classes, including a gold medal at the 1994 ISAF World Sailing Championship in the Hobie 16.


After ten years, two Olympic Games and a final ISAF World Sailing Ranking of #1 on the Mistral board, Olga switched to the new Olympic windsurfing equipment, the RS:X, at the start of 2006. She won the silver medal at the 2006 ISAF World Sailing Games and recently finished sixth at the ISAF Sailing World Championships in Cascais.


After four years campaigning a Mistral on the international circuit, Ben switched to the RS:X when it became the new Olympic windsurfing equipment at the start of 2006. At the ISAF Sailing World Championships he qualified the USA for a spot at the Beijing Olympic Games.

470 Women - Marcelien DE KONING (NED)

A treble World Champion and current world #1 at the helm in Women's 470. Recently won third consecutive 470 World Championship title at the ISAF Sailing World Championships in Cascais, Portugal. Marcelien and her crew Lobke BERKHOUT were named Dutch Sports Team of the Year in 2006. Started her Olympic sailing career in the Europe back in 1996, before switching to the 470 at the end of 2000. DE KONING was the Chair of the previous Athletes' Commission and will continue to hold this position until the first meeting of the ISAF Athletes' Commission when the next Chair can be elected.

470 Men - Andreas KOSMATOPOULOS (GRE)

Andreas has a wealth of experience in the 470 class, having campaigned the two person dinghy for over 15 years. Has took the helm for the Greek 470 boat at the last four Olympic Games. Crowned 470 World Champion in 1995.

Finn - Dan SLATER (NZL)

After stints in the Laser and 49er, in which he finished eighth at Sydney Olympic Games. Dan moved to the Finn fleet at the start of 2005 and quickly made a big impact. Already has wins at both the ISAF Grade 1 Kiel Week and ISAF Grade 1 Breitling Regatta to his name.


Switched from crew to helm in the 49er in 2005 and is now one of the key players in the battle to represent Denmark in the skiff event at the Beijing Olympic Games.

About the ISAF Athletes' Commission

The Athletes Commission is composed of eleven athletes representing each of the eleven Olympic events, elected by the athletes themselves.

The Athletes Commission holds at least one meeting each year and meets with the ISAF Executive Committee, to which the Athletes Commission makes recommendations.

The Athletes Commission has the following objectives:

Be a non-political consultative body which can offer advice and assistance to ISAF on matters and issues of relevance to athletes and act as a link between the Olympic sailors and ISAF

Ensure that the Athletes points of view are presented to ISAF

Ensure respect of the rights of the athletes within the sport and draw up recommendations to that effect

Promote high standards of sportsmanship and ethical performance when competing/participating

Relate immediately to athletes competing/participating at the highest level and establish relationships to promote feedback to ISAF on matters concerning elite athletes

Establish a working group responsible for liaison with ISAF for ISAF Events to help ISAF respond to the needs of the athletes;

May put forward its recommendations/proposals to the ISAF Executive Committee for consideration

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM