The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
1 August 2007, 10:33 am
Tour De France A La Voile 2007
No ALT tag specified
The 2007 winners

Victory For Toulon Provence Méditerranée - COYCHyères
Marseille, France

After one month of racing, Toulon Provence Méditerranée - COYCHyères of Fabien HENRY (FRA) won the 2007 Tour de France a la Voile. Teva PLICHART's (FRA) Tahiti et ses Iles came second in the overall ranking before last year's winner, Ile de France of Victor LANIER and Nicolas PAUCHET (FRA).
Lucas MILLIERET's (FRA) Val-Thorens finished first in the amateur ranking and Les Saisies - INSA of Sylvain LEBOEUF (FRA) was the winner of the school ranking.

The 2007 Tour de France a la Voile came to its end on Saturday morning in Marseille. The 30 crews were welcomed with greetings of a big crowd back at the 'Old-Port'. Although the winner of 2005, Toulon Provence Méditerranée - COYCHyères knew on Friday that they would win the race, the first places in the amateur and in the school ranking weren't yet decided. The last leg from the Frioul archipelago to the Château d'If, therefore became a thrilling one.


quickly managed to get ahead of the other competitors and thus confirmed their performance in Friday's race. The amateur crew stayed cautious and kept an eye on their closest adversary Bred of Sylvain CHTOUNDER (FRA). However, Bred was put offside after touching the buoy and finished 21st instead of 7th. Ville du Port - Région Réunion of Marc GUESSARD and Gabriel JEAN-ALBERT (FRA) won before Tahiti et ses Iles and Val-Thorens.

The 'newcomer' bizuth team of PLICHART came second in the overall ranking before last year's winner, Ile de France. They were only 0.25 points apart on Friday (Ile de France got 1012.5 points), but the Tahitians won the tough duel of the last leg and finished two places ahead. As far as the locals are concerned, Elcimaï - Ville de Marseille of Dimitri DERUELLE (FRA) failed to get up on the podium this year even though they have ranked second for three years in a row before.

In the amateur ranking, Val-Thorens remains in the first place before Bred and Saint-Malo Purflo Team SNBSM. Caisse d'Epargne - HEC - Ecole Navale failed to get back in first position, so Les Saisies - INSA is now this year's winner of the school ranking. Brest-Grandes Ecoles ENSIETA ESC ranked third.

From the first to the last, the 30 competitors of the Tour de France a la Voile 2007 navigated over 900 nautical miles along the French coast during 30 days. A big bravo to them for completing this extraordinary adventure!

Anatole Lucet (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM