The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 August 2007, 11:32 am
Copa del Rey Camper Audi 2007
No ALT tag specified
The TP52s in Palma

Siemens Leads The Way In Palma
Palma de Mallorca, Spain

Siemens won the Copa del Rey Camper Audi amongst the TP52s for second consecutive year as racing came to a conclusion over the weekend in Palma de Mallorca, Spain. Amongst the other winners was Quebramar-Chrysler in the GP42, a maiden victory after seven years sponsoring a sailing team.


in IMS 570 - which was already the mathematic winner going into the final day - Turismo Madrid in 670, Plis Play in IRC and Marina Rubicón in X-35 are the other winners of the 26th Copa del Rey Camper Audi, after a gripping final day in what has been one of the most spectacular editions of the Mediterranean regatta.

In IMS 570 Ícaro was already the mathematic winner and in GP42 Quebramar-Chrysler bordered on the victory unless disaster occurred, but in the remaining classes the leaders had everything at stake on the final day. The introduction of a discard in the 26th Copa del Rey Camper Audi (in all groups except for the TP52) was confirmed as a good choice to keep the excitement right to the last minute. Racing was up to the expectations and the wind accompanied with an Embat (southwest) around 10 knots that made it possible to complete two races for the 'box rule' classes and the last race for the other groups.

In TP52, in which four members of the Spanish Royal Family participated, Majorcan sailor Pedro PERELLÓ's (ESP) team again won the title of champion of the Copa del Rey with Infanta Elena onboard. He only won one of the races of the event but was the boat with a most regular performance. Today he finished third and fifth and his main rivals did not do well. Vasco VASCOTTO's (ITA) Mutua Madrileña both times crossed the finishing line behind Siemens and was finally second overall, six points from the winner and in front on Bribon with HM King Juan Carlos of Spain onboard.

British boat Stay Calm and Spanish boat Caixa Galicia also battled for a place on the podium but Stuart ROBINSON's (GBR) team was disqualified from the first race due to an infringement against German boat Platoon at a mark, so third place overall was for Vicente TIRADO's (ESP) team with Roberto BERMUDEZ DE CASTRO (ESP) at the helm. The Irish team Patches claimed fourth.


was the indisputable winner in GP42. It is its first Copa del Rey after seven years sponsoring a sailing team. Its crew, from Desafío Español and with Spanish sailor Laureano WIZNER as helmsman won the final two races to make a total of eight victories in 11 races. Twenty points behind were second classified Canarias Puerto Calero, with Jose María PONCE (ESP) at the helm. Jan SANTANA and Jordi CALAFAT's (ESP) Zurich were finally third overall although tied with the Canary islands team. They were OCS in the first race and had to take a penalty and this lost them the silver medal.


was the winner of the 26 Copa del Rey Camper Audi in IMS 570 after Friday's races but he sailed on Saturday and won again. Three victories, four second places, two thirds and a fourth place (discarded) are the excellent results of Luis MAS's (ESP) Dufour 44, equipped with Quantum sails and with Majorcan sailor Francisco GIL onboard. Ícaro also finished with 20-point winning margin. Tecnocasa-Go Go, a Comet 45S skippered by Jordi DEL TARRÉ (ESP) wasa distant second ahead of Luso-Roux.

In IMS 670, Turismo Madrid from Olympic champion José María VAN DER PLOEG (ESP) won again and is the winner of the class, only two points ahead of his main rival, Jesús PINTOS's (ESP) Navantia. These two X-37s, second classified and World Champion respectively, offered a great performance in the 26th Copa del Rey Camper Audi, swapping the lead every day, in an equallu matched and compact group. Third place was for another X-37, Lucio PÉREZ's (ESP) Movistar with Majorcan sailor Javier MOYÀ (ESP) at the helm. Fernando Pombo's Vindio that was finally fourth.

The tie between the leaders of the X-35 class was solved on the last day in favour of Rafael LASSO's (ESP). He had five victories from twelve races and finished with a seven-point advantage over second overall, X Connexion.

In IRC, everything was decided in the last race, with Plis Pay from Alicante crossing the line first while US maxi Bon Bon finished ninth. In this way, Vicente GARCÍA TORRES's (ESP) Farr 520 was the winner of the 26th Copa del Rey Camper Audi in this class, making its debut in this edition. There were two points difference between the two leaders. Third place was kept by German boat Earybird.

The 26 Copa del Rey Camper Audi came to an end with the traditional prizegiving ceremony at Castillo de Bellver. A total of 110 boats from 15 nations participated in this edition distributed in six classes - two more than last year - and sailed in three racing areas instead of the traditional one racing area used in all the previous editions of the Copa del Rey. A total of 64 races were sailed over the six days of competition, all of them in ideal wind conditions for racing, from nine to 20 knots. The introduction of the discard and the replacement of the offshore race by a coastal race were the most applauded changes in this new Copa del Rey Camper Audi, which confirms itself as one of the most successful editions.

Copa del Rey Camper Audi (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM