The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
8 August 2007, 11:25 am
LEROY Makes Early Running In St Quay
No ALT tag specified
Claire LEROY and her team at the 2005 ISAF Worlds

ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship 2007
St Quay Portrieux, France

World #1 Claire LEROY (FRA) got off to a perfect start at the ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship, winning her opening three match to top the leaderboard in St Quay Portrieux, France. World #2 Lotte MELDGAARD PEDERSEN (DEN) is also unbeaten after the opening day went with the form book.
An 8-12 knot breeze made for an excellent opening day of racing at the 2007 ISAF Women's Match Racing Worlds, hosted by the Sport Nautique de Saint Quay-Portrieux and watched by a keen spectator crowd which included ISAF Vice-President Fiona BARRON. The key to the day was reading the succession of minor wind shifts on the course which made for challenging racing the First Class 8 type boats.

LEROY is sailing at her home club and made no mistake in her opening three matches against Josie GIBSON (GBR), Jessica SMYTH (NZL) and Katie SPITHILL (AUS). After occupying the world #1 spot for over two years and skippering France to the title at the ISAF Nations Cup last year, the 27 year old from Nantes is favourite to lift the World crown on her home waters.

In contrast to LEROY, world #2 MELDGAARD PEDERSEN has little experience racing at St Quay Portrieux, but she also made perfect start with wins against SMYTH and Sandy HAYES (USA). The other pre-championship favourites also lived up to their billing, with world #3 Silke HAHLBROCK (GER) and world #4 Klaartje ZUIDERBAAN (NED) both making solid 2-1 starts. SPITHILL recovered from her loss to LEROY with wins against Christelle PHILIPPE (FRA) and Josie GIBSON (GBR) and is top of the non-Europeans on a 2-1 record.

A 15 knot breeze is forecast for the second day of round robin racing on Wednesday, which should provide some spectacular racing out on the water.


1. Claire LEROY (FRA), 3-0
3. Silke HAHLBROCK (GER), 2-1
3. Klaartje ZUIDERBAAN (NED), 2-1
3. Katie SPITHILL (AUS), 2-1
3. Christelle PHILIPPE (FRA), 2-1
7. Josie GIBSON (GBR), 2-2
7. Jessica SMYTH (NZL), 2-2
9. Nicky SOUTER (AUS), 2-3
10. Jenny AXHEDE (SWE), 1-2
11. Sandy HAYES (USA), 0-3
12. Gemma FARRELL (GBR), 0-4

Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM