The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 February 2007, 09:32 am
Super Danes Win
No ALT tag specified

SAP 505 World Championship 2007
Adelaide, Australia

'The Super Danes, Jan SAUGMANN and Morten RAMSBAEK (DEN), enjoy a big lead in one of their three race wins to take the 2007 505 World Championships. Day five in Adelaide was a beautiful day offshore at South Australia's Brightson and Seacliff Yacht Club, a little warm for the visitors and a little light for the Aussies, but it was perfect for the Danes.
Two races were held in a fairly light sea breeze and the Super Danes, SAUGMANN and RAMSBAEK excelled.

Race 7 started in about 8-10 knots and built slightly as the race went on. Mike MARTIN and Jeff NELSON (USA) were gate boat and started on a port tack lift, which swung right 4 minutes later, just as they were released from gate boat duties. From there, they crossed the fleet and had an easy lay to the top mark and an all the way victory. Sandy HIGGINS and Paul MARSH (AUS), the local boys sailing Hawaii 5 0 and using a different mainsail, sailed brilliantly to work through the field and pull second place. SAUGMANN and RAMSBAEK were 16th at the first mark, but were superior in all legs, managing to move up to fifth by the finish.

Race 8 was perhaps consistently stronger, but no windier than 12 knots. After the gains made to the right in the previous race, a large part of the fleet favoured a late start for the second race, to the right, yet most of the guns picked an early to middle start and it was the right call. The boats that worked the middle left early popped out in the lead at the top mark.

Super Danes

Leading the pack were the Super Danes, who have just not made a mistake this regatta. They have been sailing together for a while and have done ten of the last 12 Worlds, nearly always in the top ten, but have never even won a Worlds heat before.

A jinx they have well and truly broken now, at what many are saying has been the toughest, (to win) 505 Worlds in a while. Michael QUIRK and Geoff LANGE (AUS) had their best race of the series to place second and Howie HAMLIN and Fritz LANZINGER (USA) were third.

Today's performances mean that the Super Danes cannot be beaten and they do not have to sail the last race, but also, there is a ding dong battle for second, with two point separating three boats. MARTIN and NELSON are second, HAMLIN and LANZINGER of are third and local boat of HIGGINS and MARSH are fourth.

One race remains. The forecast is the same as today, so it seems likely we will have another light sea breeze.

Top Ten Results

Pos Nation Helm Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 R9 Pts
1 DEN Jan SAUGMANN Morten RAMSBAEK (20) 6 7 1 3 1 5 1 (93) DNS 24
2 USA Howie HAMLIN Fritz LANZINGER 7 (15) 9 3 (14) 2 7 3 2 33
3 AUS Sandy HIGGINS Paul MARSH 1 8 1 (28) 12 (17) 2 8 7 39
4 GBR Ian PINNELL Steve HUNT 3 10 (14) 5 (24) 7 9 5 4 43
5 USA Mike MARTIN Jeff NELSON 14 1 6 2 9 11 1 (25) (15) 44
6 USA Kevin TAUGHER Jon BELL 9 7 13 (33) (35) 6 16 11 3 65
7 GER Jens FINDEL Johannes TELLEN 11 4 (20) 15 (25) 4 13 19 1 67
8 USA Nick ADAMSON Steve BOURDOW 4 2 3 17 15 12 (34) 15 (22) 68
9 GER Boris HERRMANN Julien KLEINER (93) DNF (93) DNS 11 23 5 3 4 14 9 69
10 AUS Robin DEUSSEN Jordan SPENCER 6 (34) 10 10 (21) 8 6 16 13 69
Jordan Spencer (As Amended by ISAF). Image, World Champions Jan SAUGMANN and Morten RAMSBAEK:©
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM