The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
23 February 2007, 11:29 am
Nominations Open For Australian Yachting Awards
No ALT tag specified

Yachting Australia News

Nominations for the 2007 Australian Yachting Awards are now open and will close on 31 March. These prestigious awards recognize a range of areas across yachting.
No ALT tag specified

The categories are:

Male Sailor of the Year

  • Female Sailor of the Year
  • OAMPS Insurance Brokers Youth Sailor of the Year
  • Sailor of the Year with a Disability
  • Services to Yachting Award
  • Media Award

The Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the sport during the period 1 April 2006-15 March 2007. Services to Yachting and Media Awards may recognize contribution to yachting over a longer period.

Anyone may submit a nomination, provided the criteria and conditions are met. Nomination forms can be found on the Yachting Australia website -

Finalists will be honoured and winners announced at a function in Sydney in late May. More information and event tickets will be available soon.

Previous Sailors of the Year include America's Cup winners, Olympic and World Champions and Round The World victors.

Last years winners and awardees were:

  • Male Sailor of the Year - James SPITHILL (NSW)
  • Female Sailor of the Year - Allison SHREEVE (NSW)
  • Youth Sailor of the Year - Kyle LANGFORD and Evan WALKER (NSW)
  • Sailor of the Year with a Disability - Paul BORG (Victoria) and Don SCOTT (NSW)
  • Services to Yachting Award - Lou ABRAHAMS (Victoria), Bill JOSELIN (NSW) and John KIRKJIAN (NSW)
  • Media Award - Graeme ADAM (NSW)
Lara Watts (As Amended By ISAF). Image, James SPITHILL receiving his trophy last year:© Andrea Francolini
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM