The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
8 February 2007, 10:27 am
Kiwis Versus Aussies
No ALT tag specified

Hardy Cup 2007
Sydney, Australia

Two Australian skippers versus two New Zealanders - that is the line-up for tomorrow's finals of the ISAF Grade 3 Hardy Cup under 25 match racing regatta on Sydney Harbour. Adam MINOPRIO (NZL), from Auckland's Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, the overall leader throughout the round robins and into the finals, has chosen Stuart POLLARD (AUS), from the host Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, as his semi-final opponent.
No ALT tag specified

In the other semi-final New Zealander Laurie JURY, also representing the RNZYS, will be matched against West Australian Torvar MIRSKY, from Royal Perth Yacht Club.

In yesterday's Pool A round robin to decide the semi-finals, both MINOPRIO and MIRSKY won four of their five flights, with MINOPRIO's only loss being to woman skipper Katie SPITHILL (AUS), representing Sydney's Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club

MIRSKY also had four wins, his sole loss being to MINOPRIO and thus, on countback, placed second to MINOPRIO at the end of the Pool A round robin to decide the semi-finalists. JURY had three wins, POLLARD two and SPITHILL and Evan WALKER (AUS), from the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, one win each.

Fine Racing

Today produced some fine racing among the young crews in east northeasterly winds that reached 18-20 knots late in the afternoon, conditions that required basic good sailing techniques as well as match racing tactics.

MIRSKY, as he did in winning the Warren Jones Memorial Youth Regatta in Perth last year, showed his determination to come from behind, using downwind gybing tactics to overtake his opponents.

MINOPRIO's superior skills came from aggressive pre-start manoeuvres, with America's Cup-style tactics in sailing his opponent into the spectator fleet and then beating them back to the line. He also forced is opponents in penalty situations, to his advantage.


In the Pool B final round robin the RSYS's Marking DORLING (AUS) had five wins to finish at the top and seventh overall, ahead of New Zealander Graeme SUTHERLAND from Royal Akarana Yacht Club, who had three wins today.

Then came Paul SWINTON (AUS), Payson INFELISE (USA), Nicole SOUTER (AUS) and Yuki NAGAHORI (JPN).

Peter Campbell (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Action from the match between Adam MINOPRIO and Torvar MIRSKY:© Aline Van Haren
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM