The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
21 February 2007, 09:27 am
No ALT tag specified

Laser New Zealand Championships 2007
Kerikeri, New Zealand

Michael BULLOT (NZL) and Miranda POWRIE (NZL) took out the major titles at the ISAF Grade 2 Laser New Zealand Championships, which concluded in Kerikeri on Tuesday. BULLOT won the Laser fleet over world #5 and defending champion Andrew MURDOCH (NZL), whilst POWRIE came in ahead of Jo ALEH (NZL).
The regatta sailed over four days incorporated the Laser, Laser Masters, Laser Radial, Laser Radial Masters and Laser 4.7. The final day was very successful with the sea breeze cooperating and coming in an hour earlier than usual, meaning the Race Committee could get in three races and complete the ten scheduled races.

The races were sailed in a shifty 5-10 knots, with a flat sea in a course area off the Te Puna inlet.

MURDOCH won the final race of the Laser regatta, but finished six points behind BULLOT in the overall standings, who held the lead for most of the regatta with an impressive run of consistent scoring.

Great Result For JUNIOR

Josh JUNIOR (NZL) of Wellington was third overall and first youth, a fantastic achievement in this highly competitive class. He demonstrated his potential when adding another race win on the final day to finish the regatta with three bullets over the ten race series.

POWRIE came through to win the Laser Radial beating ALEH home in the final race and overtaking her on the board. Just one point separated the two at the conclusion of the regatta. Laura BALDWIN of Great Britain was third.

Giles GRIGG (NZL) put in another consistent day yesterday to easily win the overall Masters trophy plus the Apprentice Masters'. First Master was Murray THOM (NZL), first Grand Master Garth CHEYNE (NZL) and first Great Grand Jack HANSEN (NZL). Scott LEITH (NZL) was the first Radial master. Travis DOW (NZL) took home the Laser 4.7 trophy and won the first 4.7 Laser cube in New Zealand and a flight to the 4.7 Worlds in South Africa.

ISAF. Image, Miranda POWRIE took the Laser Radial title:© Terry Fong
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM