The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 February 2007, 10:46 am
Sprint Series A Preview To The Australian Championship
No ALT tag specified

Farr 40 Sprint Series 2007
Sydney, Australia

The Australian Farr 40 fleet will be back on the water as a class for the annual Farr 40 Sprint Series which is enjoyed by competitors and spectators alike. From 17-18 February the regatta will be hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia with ten teams hitting the track for the second last event in the Australian Farr 40 2006-07 circuit.
No ALT tag specified

The two days of racing are a stamina test with eight sprint races scheduled. Each race is usually set at approximately one mile legs with the first day an offshore day and the second day raced inshore on the picturesque Sydney Harbour.

Returning to Farr 40 racing will be 2005 Rolex Farr 40 World Champion Richard PERINI (AUS) and Marcus BLACKMORE (AUS) who will be back with the Emotional Hooligan team. PERINI's last hit out on the water resulted in a second at the Mumm 30 World Championship in Miami, USA in December of 2006.

BLACKMORE returns after a 18 months absence from the class and will be sailing with the Australian fleet for the next month before sending the boat to Europe to prepare to race at the 2007 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Flying The Flag

Four Australian teams will be flying the flag in Copenhagen with Matt ALLEN's (AUS) Ichi Ban keen to improve on their 2006 World Championship result and bring the Rolex Farr 40 World Champion trophy back to Australia for the third time.

Joining ALLEN and BLACKMORE will be long time class stalwart Lang WALKER (AUS) and his crew on Kokomo. The fourth team to represent Australia will be Ivan WHEEN's (AUS) Sputnik.

Making the trip from Hobart in Tasmania for the last two regattas in the Australian F40 2006-07 circuit is the only red Farr 40 in Australia, Stephen BOYES's (AUS) Wired. BOYES has been sailing Wired against the building Hobart fleet of Farr 40s with four boats now located in the capital of the Apple Isle and more boats will be joining them soon.

The final event in the Australian Farr 40 2006-07 season will be the 2007 Hamilton Island Farr 40 Australian Championship being held 23-25 February.

Sam Crichton (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Richard PERINI's Evolution:© Carlo Borlenghi/Rolex
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM