The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 February 2007, 02:47 pm
Medal Races Decided
No ALT tag specified

Rolex Miami OCR 2007
Miami, Florida, USA

Young New Zealand sailor Adam MINOPRIO again dominated match racing in the ISAF Grade 3 Hardy Cup under 25 regatta on Sydney Harbour today, completing the round robin series with just one loss in 11 flights.
No ALT tag specified

The 21 year old Auckland University mechanical engineering student and his Black Match team of David SWETE and Nick BLACKMAN from the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron go into tomorrow's second stage after two days of convincing match-racing wins.

Their only loss was today, going down to the teenage champion from the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, Evan WALKER (AUS) and his crew of Robert GIBBS and Kinley FOWLER.

Sydney Harbour again turned on its traditional 10-15 knot north-easterly seabreeeze, enabling the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron's race committee to take full advantage of daylight saving and continue competition until six o'clock this evening.

Minoprio, competing in his first Hardy Cup, the prestigious regatta created by Australia's most eminent yachtsman Sir James Hardy, heads the top six teams going into stage two with 10 wins from 11 flights.

Men's RS:X
Women's RS:X
Laser Radial
Men's 470
Women's 470
2.4 Metre

Fellow New Zealander Laurie Jury's Kiwi Match team, also from the RNZYS, finished the round-robins with eight wins after some excellent racing tactics today.

Other four finalists, decided after some complicated calculations by the race committee, are: Evan Walker (KEG Racing, CYCA) and Stuart Pollard (RSYS) each finishing with seven wins, Torvar Mirsky (Team Taskers, Royal Perth Yacht Club, WA) and Katie Spithill (Team Acuity, Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club) who finished with five wins each.

The Rolex Miami OCR will be included in the first running of the ISAF World Cup© series for the Olympic Classes. For more on the ISAF World Cup© CLICK HERE.

For a complete list of all the news about the Rolex Miami OCR 2007 CLICK HERE.
Marni Lane/Lindsey Bell (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Morgan LARSON and Pete SPAULDING won gold for the USA after a dramatic 49er Medal Race:© Dan Nerney/Rolex
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM