The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 December 2007, 10:44 am
New Leaders At Aussie Laser Champs
Despite her top three results yesterday, Sarah BLANCK has dropped to second place

Laser Australian Championships 2008
Port Phillip, Australia

Their were several changes at the top after day two of racing at the 2008 ISAF Grade 1 Laser Australian Championship in Port Phillip.
World champion Tom SLINGSBY's (AUS) OCS in race 5 of the late yesterday has handed Nick THOMPSON (GBR) a one point lead from Sydney International Regatta winner Michael LEIGH (CAN) on 13 points in a strong international field of 126 sailors.

Deniss KARPAK (EST), #10 in the ISAF World Sailing Rankings and recent winner of Estonia's Best Young Athlete of the Year award, currently holds down third place, 10 points adrift of the leader. SLINGSBY is now down in 17th place.

Ashley BRUNNING (AUS) is the top placed Aussie in seventh place with a win included in his score. However, when race drops come into play, Slingsby and others will have the opportunity to move up the board.

In the Laser Radials, which also features a strong international line-up, Veronika FENCLOVA (CZE) had a brilliant day; scoring three bullets to take the series lead away from Sarah BLANCK (AUS), whose two second places and a third were not good enough to hold her lead. She is now second placed, three points behind the Czech girl. Nathalie BRUGGER (SUI) is presently third overall ahead of Kiwi Olympic hope Jo ALEH.

This is an important event for the Laser Radial Women's, ahead of their World Championship to be held in New Zealand in March. With four places remaining to fill the Laser Radial Women's Worlds' quotient, some may sail well enough in Melbourne to gain selection.

Rohan LANGFORD has jumped to a 17 point lead over Jarrard LINCOLN in the all-Aussie 4.7 fleet. With only a 12 point spread between third and sixth places, this is shaping up as a battle that will only be decided in the four-race finals series which starts on 3 January.

The Championship is now one race ahead of schedule. The Race Committee has decided to hold a morning race today to take advantage of forecast northerly winds at Blairgowrie before a 41 degree heat wave takes hold.

A layday has been called for the Blairgowrie Yacht Squadron hosted event on New Year's Day.

Results -
Sail Melbourne -
James Mitchell/Di Pearson (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM