The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 December 2007, 01:41 pm
Farr 40 World Champions Head Down Under
2007 Rolex Farr 40 World Champions Mazcalzone Latino
2007 Rolex Farr 40 World Champions Mazcalzone Latino

Rolex Trophy Series 2007
Sydney, Australia

Reigning Rolex Farr 40 World Champion Vincenzo ONORATO and his Mazcalzone Latino team will be racing alongside their Australian class mates in the upcoming Rolex Trophy One Design series being sailed off Sydney Heads from 7-9 December.
Hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia in the lead up to the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, this event is a closely fought regatta within this highly competitive one design fleet.

Vincenzo ONORATO (ITA), who is a regular competitor at this event having won it in 2005, is the only Farr 40 owner who has achieve a class first this year by winning back to back Rolex Farr 40 World Championships in 2006 and 2007.

"We always look forward to sailing in beautiful Sydney and racing against a very competitive Australian fleet. We have just seen Matt in Miami and it was good to see the Australian teams in Denmark. We have Adrian STEAD with us and a number of our team who have been to Sydney before", said ONORATO from Miami.

ONORATO and Australian Farr 40 class President Matt ALLEN (AUS) have both been at the Farr 40 class 10th Anniversary Regatta which was held in Miami, Florida. Both teams utilized the time in preparation for the 2008 Rolex Farr 40 World Championship which will be held in Miami from 16-19 April 2008.

Returning to the helm of Kokomo will be long-time class member Lang WALKER (AUS). WALKER was one of the four Australian teams who competed in Denmark at the class World Championship. Ivan WHEEN's (AUS) Sputnik finished fourth overall at the Rolex Farr 40 World Championship and won their first event back with the local fleet at the recent Savills regatta.

This regatta will be the fifth event on the schedule for the Australian Farr 40 class 2007-08 circuit and local fleet members have their eye on the prize which will be decided in February 2008. Martin HILL (AUS) currently leads the pointscore with Guido BELGIORNO NETTIS (AUS) in second and ALLEN in third.

Racing will kick off on Friday with 11 teams racing over the three days of competition.
Sam Crichton (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM