The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 December 2007, 11:39 pm
WILLIAMS Takes World Championship And Monsoon Cup
The 2007 ISAF Match Racing World Champions celebrate
The 2007 ISAF Match Racing World Champions celebrate

Monsoon Cup 2007
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia

Ian WILLIAMS from Great Britain won the 2007 ISAF Match Racing World Championship title after sweeping to victory at the Monsoon Cup in Malaysia.
The kettle drums thundered as Team Pindar - skipper Ian WILLIAMS, Bill HARDESTY, Mark WILLIAMS, Mark NICHOLLS and Simon SHAW - paraded from the dock to the awards podium after winning the final match of the ISAF Grade WC Monsoon Cup in Terengganu, Malaysia. Fittingly WILLIAMS and co, newly crowned as ISAF Match Racing World Champions on Saturday (click here to read the full story), won the Monsoon Cup by defeating 2006 World Champion, Peter GILMOUR (AUS) of PST in the final.

"What a fantastic event," said WILLIAMS, "We are absolutely blown away. Today we thought we had a speed edge and so we could put the pressure on when we were behind. The conditions were pretty tricky but in all honesty have been brilliant for the past four days."

Team Pindar was awarded the Monsoon Cup and their purse of MYR250,000 ($100,000) by the Prime Minister of Malaysia in front of thousands of spectators and media cameras. GILMOUR's team, including Yashuhiro YAJI, Christian SCHERRER, Kazuhiko SOFUKU and Rod DAWSON, claimed second prize and Bjorn HANSEN's (SWE) Team Apport.Net with Magnus WOXEN, Karl KJERSTADIUS, Martin STROMBERG and Gustav TEMPELMAN, marched up on stage to received the third place prize from the Minister of Terengganu.

The finals started right on time in 12-14 knots and sunny skies for the live television coverage on Eurosport and ESPN Star Sports. In race 1, GILMOUR made an unforced error and copped a penalty in the pre-start. However, he led the entire way around the three lap course and with only a 40-metre lead tried to unload his penalty on the finish line to win the race. However, it was not enough as WILLIAMS crossed ahead by half a boat length.

In race 2, GILMOUR lead from the start and never relinquished the lead showing his skill and confidence in a World Tour final. Race 3 saw the most spirited race of the match. WILLIAMS copped a penalty in the pre-start but lead around the first lap. Near the first leeward mark WILLIAMS tried to luff GILMOUR and push him off the course. WILLIAMS then faked a gybe to the mark and then headed back at GILMOUR now on port. GILMOUR was not ready for the move and copped the penalty which offset the penalty WILLIAMS already had. However the umpires had determined that Gilmour who had now rounded ahead an inside gained an advantage through the foul and gave him another penalty which cost him the race. A boisterous Gilly, had a few choice words for the umpires during the race.

In the fourth and final race, WILLIAMS drew a penalty on GILMOUR in the pre-start and then lead the entire way around the course to take the win and the coveted Monsoon Cup. While regatta organizer, GILMOUR has had probably more time in the racing yachts than anyone else on the World Tour, WILLIAMS out manoeuvred him in some close pre-start and mark rounding situations.

"Today we were simply not good enough," said GILMOUR. "Ian sailed well but we certainly helped to open the door, which at this level you just can't do."

In the petit-finals HANSEN and Paolo CIAN (ITA) went to the final race to decide third and fourth places. In the final race they stayed within two boatlengths of each other throughout their race for third place in the Monsoon Cup. CIAN was overlapped with HANSEN at the finish, but it just wasn't enough. HANSEN took third place in the Monsoon Cup and CIAN and Team Shosholosa were fourth. CIAN's Team Shosholosa also claimed the World Match Racing Tour's third place trophy for his finish in the petit-final.

"This has been an incredible season and World Championship," commented, World Tour President, Scott MACLEOD. "After 15 stages around the world, to have this championship come down to one race with three potential winners is fantastic for the sport."

Along with the Monsoon Cup, WILLIAMS and his Pindar Racing Team were awarded the ISAF Match Racing World Championship Trophy designed by Wedgwood by ISAF Vice-President David KELLETT and the Prime Minister of Malaysia. WILLIAMS graciously thanked the organizers, particularly GILMOUR, for putting on a tremendous show at the Heritage Bay Club in Terengganu, Malaysia.

Monsoon Cup Final Standings

1. Ian WILLIAMS (GBR) Team Pindar - 250,000.00 MYR
2. Peter GILMOUR (AUS) PST - 150,000.00 MYR
3. Bjorn HANSEN (SWE) Team Apport.Net - 100,000.00 MYR
4. Paolo CIAN (ITA) Shosholoza - 90,000.00 MYR
5. Torvar MIRSKY (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team - 80,000.00 MYR
6. Mathieu RICHARD (FRA) Saba Sailing Team - 70,000.00 MYR
7. Adam MINOPRIO (NZL) BlackMatch Racing - 60,000.00 MYR
8. Jesper RADICH (DEN) Radich Racing - 56,000.00 MYR
9. Staffan LINDBERG (FIN) Alandia Sailing Team - 46,000.00 MYR
10. Sebastien COL (FRA) Areva Challenge - 46,000.00 MYR
11. Katie SPITHILL(AUS) Team Acuity - 30,000.00 MYR
12. Tiffany KOO (MAS) UK Halsey Gapurna Team - 28,000.00 MYR


Finals Pairing

Ian WILLIAMS vs Peter GILMOUR - 3-1


Bjorn HANSEN vs Paolo CIAN - 2-1


Peter GILMOUR vs Bjorn HANSEN - 3-0
Ian WILLIAMS vs Paolo CIAN - 3-2


Peter GILMOUR vs Adam MINOPRIO - 3-2
Paolo CIAN vs Mathieu RICHARD - 3-1
Ian WILLIAMS vs Jesper RADICH - 3-0
Bjorn HANSEN vs Torvar MIRSKY - 3-0

Round Robin Standings

1. Peter GILMOUR (AUS) PST: 9.5-1
2. Adam MINOPRIO (NZL) BlackMatch Racing 8-3
3. Torvar MIRSKY (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team: 8-3
4. Mathieu RICHARD (FRA) Saba Sailing Team: 7-4
5. Jesper RADICH (DEN) Radich Racing 7-4
6. Paolo CIAN (ITA) Shosholoza 6-5
7. Bjorn HANSEN (SWE) Team Apport.Net: 6-5
8. Ian WILLIAMS (GBR) Team Pindar: 5-6
9. Staffan LINDBERG (FIN) Alandia Sailing Team: 4-7
10. Sebastien COL (FRA) Areva Challenge: 4-7
11. Katie SPITHILL (AUS) Team Acuity: 1-10
12. Tiffany KOO (MAS) UK Halsey Gapurna Team: 0-11

Results -
Monsoon Cup -
World Match Racing Tour -

Lynn Fitzpatrick (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM