The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 January 2007, 02:00 pm
Day Three In Hobart
No ALT tag specified

OAMPS Australian Youth Championship 2007
Hobart, Australia

Western Australia's Luke PARKINSON and Paul KELLY are the new leaders in the 29er class in the OAMPS Australian Youth Championship 2007 at the Sandy Bay Sailing Club in Hobart. Jamie WOODS and Jasper WARREN (AUS) remain in second place in the class after a competitive day's racing on the Derwent River.
In the 29ers for girls, defending champions and reigning Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Champions in the 420, Belinda KERL and Chelsea HALL, who have been invited to train with the Australian Sailing Team, continued their excellent form, finishing first among the girls and crossing the line eighth overall.

Hobie Lead Unchanged

Defending Hobie 16 national champion Jason WATERHOUSE and crew Michael MCCORMICK continue to lead their division comfortably after six first places from six races.

David GILMOUR and Andrew NOE, also of Western Australia, won their fifth race of the series in the 420 class for boys. While GILMOUR and NOE led for the whole race, they finished just a couple of boat lengths ahead of Luke STEPHENS and Douglas FLAHERTY.

Lauren THREDGOLD and Megan SOULSBY, racing for the first time together, won their first race of the series and finished fourth overall.

MURRAY Holds On To Laser Lead

Jye MURRAY continues to lead the Laser class after a first in the sixth race today, ahead of Oliver TWEDELL from Great Britain and James BURMAN.

In the Laser 4.7 class, Tasmanian Christopher JONES won his second race of the series to lead overall from Elliot NOYE and Michael STEENHUIS.

In the Laser Radial, Gabrielle KING from northern NSW is fourth overall in the mixed fleet.

The annual championships is the marquee event on the Yachting Australia calendar and is a selection event for the Australian Youth Sailing team to compete at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship in Ontario, Canada from 12-21 July.

The OAMPS Australian Youth Sailing Team 2007, scheduled to be announced at the end of the championships on 10 January, will comprise nine members.

Racing is continuing and an update will be provided as soon as results are available.

Lara Watts (As Amended By ISAF), Image, The 29ers in action:© Fred Koolhof
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM