The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
10 January 2007, 09:40 am
Tight Final Day
No ALT tag specified

OAMPS Australian Youth Championship 2007
Hobart, Australia

Hannah NATTRASS and Michelle MULLER (AUS) are the new national champions in the 29er double-handed class for girls after a tight final day of racing in the OAMPS Australian Youth Championship 2007 at the Sandy Bay Sailing Club in Hobart.
No ALT tag specified

In varied conditions that resulted in big delays between the last two races, the pair won the last race (third overall in the mixed fleet) to defeat defending champions and reigning Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Champions in the 420, Belinda KERL and Chelsea HALL (AUS) in a close finish. Just one point separated the two crews going into the last race.

In the 29ers for boys, Luke PARKINSON and Paul KELLY (AUS) maintained their lead over Jamie WOODS and Jasper WARREN (AUS) going into the last two races of the competition to take the national title. Nick PEATE (AUS), 2006 Sabot National Champion, and Rhys MARA (AUS) finished third.

Like Father, Like Son

David GILMOUR (AUS), son of four-time ISAF Match Racing World Champion Peter GILMOUR, and Andrew NOE (AUS) continued their winning form today to take the 420 national title. The pair won seven of the nine races.

Defending Hobie 16 national champion Jason WATERHOUSE and crew Michael MCCORMICK (AUS), won every race of the series to once again claim the national title.

Jye MURRAY won the Laser single-handed class ahead of Oliver TWEDDELL from Great Britain and James BURMAN.

Tasmanian Success

Tasmanians finished one, two and three in the Laser 4.7 class. David FLETCHER (AUS) finished first ahead of Elliot NOYE (AUS) and Christopher JONES (AUS).

In the Laser Radial class, Gabrielle KING (AUS) from northern NSW won the girls class and finished fourth overall in the mixed fleet. KING beat Victoria CHAN from Singapore and Grace TWEDDELL of Great Britain.

International competitors also featured prominently in the boys Laser Radial class - Malo LESEIGNEUR (CAL) finished first from Colin CHENG of Singapore and Matthew BROWN (AUS) from NSW.

The annual championships is the marquee event on the Yachting Australia calendar and is a selection event for the Australian Youth Sailing team to compete at the Volvo Youth Sailing ISAF World Championship in Ontario, Canada from 12-21 July.

The OAMPS Australian Youth Sailing Team 2007, scheduled to be announced at the end of the championships on 10 January, will comprise nine members.

Lara Watts (As Amended By ISAF), Image, The Laser Radial fleet in action:© Fred Koolhof
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM