The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
28 November 2007, 10:50 am
Brazil Wins Soling Worlds
Action from day three in San Isidro
Action from day three in San Isidro

Soling World Championship 2007
San Isidro, Argentina

The Brazilian team of George NEHM, Marcos RIBEIRO and Lucio RIBEIRO were crowned Soling World Champions in San Isidro, Argentina.
The Brazilian team came out on top of the battle between 34 team from 11 nations.

The Vipal team with a solid racing, with one bullet in race 5 and five second places took the title at the Soling World Championship held in San Isidro. The Brazilian power was in evidence with team Homen company sailed by Cicero HARTMANN, Flávio QUEVEDO and Andre RENARD (BRA) taking bullets in three races to finish second, only with five points behind the Vipal team.

Team Skandia with Martin BUSCH, Tomas PEUVREL and Maximo FELDTMANN from Argentina also put in a consistent performance to finish in third place. Just behind them were the 2006 World Champions, the Gull team of Hans FOGH, Roger CHEER and Gordon DEVRIES from Canada.

The Hungarian team Ramada Balaton Hotel and T Mobile, composed of Geroge WOSSALA, Karoly VEZER and Peter NEMETH, kept a high level with one bullet from the nine-race series to finish fifth overall.

The event ended with a crowd in front of the Worlds' tent with applause going to the Hush Puppies team of Josefina EIZAYAGA, Clara CIRIO and Irene POODTS (ARG). They finished 33rd, one place above the Chilean team. This means, for the first time, the Tony Clare's Trophy will be shared by three, as it is usually awarded by the best-placed woman in the event.

In another first, four new Solings were finished for the event, all of them just before the regatta, just in time to measure and go out for their first race: two achieved top ten finishes; three of them won at least one race; all placed top five or better in the races; three of them started 4 minutes late the first race, too much to setup before the race, they forgot to watch the RC boat…

The Paul Elvstrom trophy to the best helmsman age 28 or under will be kept in Argentina once more, this time by Agustin FERRARIO who sailed with Javier SIRO and Federico LANDINI to 14th overall.

The KC1 Classic trophy for boats built prior to 1 January 1980, like in the Europeans, went the silver medallist Homen Company team sailing an Abbott 1979.

A super classic trophy was also awarded to boats built before 1970. With six contesting this special local trophy, it was won by the French team FRA 1 with Martin MINVIELLE, Alexis JOUANNEAU and Sebastian BALESTRINI.

Soling World Championship -
Results -
Matias Collins (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM