The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
15 November 2007, 10:03 am
TJV Victory For Groupama 2
Franck CAMMAS and Stève RAVUSSIN celebrate victory
Franck CAMMAS and Stève RAVUSSIN celebrate victory

Transat Jacques Vabre 2007

Groupama 2 has won the 2007 Transat Jacque Vabre, smashing the race record in the process.
After 10 days, 38 minutes and 43 seconds of racing at an average speed of 18.03 knots, Franck CAMMAS (FRA) and Stève RAVUSSIN (SUI) sailed the ORMA trimaran Groupama 2 across the finishing line at 13:40:43 CET (09:40:43 local time) on 14 November. This was CAMMAS's third win in his five Transat Jacques Vabre races. The record was smashed by 1 day, 22 hours, 31 minutes and 58 seconds (former record from 2003: 11 days, 23 hours, 10 minutes and 41 seconds).

Gitana 11 arrived 9 hours and 10 minutes later, giving Lionel LEMONCHOIS (FRA) and Yann GUICHARD (FRA) second place. Banque Populiare claimed third place. Just over 16 hours behind the winners.

At the head of the IMOCO fleet, Ecover 3 was 1,443nm from the finish at the 08:00 poll this morning. Mike GOLDING (GBR) and Bruno DUBOIS (CAN) hold a 40nm advantage over Groupe Bel, with just a further 7nm covering the rest of the top five.

Transat Jacques Vabre -

Veronique Teurlay (As Amended By ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM