The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 November 2007, 08:53 am
Claire LEROY And Ed BAIRD Win 2007 World Sailor Awards
The Nominees for the 2007 World Sailor award
The Nominees for the 2007 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2007
Estoril, Portugal

ISAF and Rolex are proud to announce that the male and female winners of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are Ed BAIRD (USA) and Claire LEROY (FRA).
Claire LEROY has had a remarkable 12 months on the women's match racing circuit, winning the ISAF Nations Cup, European title and ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championship. Throughout the 12 month period she has remained untouched as the #1 skipper on the Women's ISAF World Match Race Rankings.

"Sailing is a wonderful team sport," said LEROY, upon receiving her award. "This year has been incredible - thank you so much for your support, it will contribute greatly to our time in the Olympics."

Ed BAIRD helmed the Swiss team Alinghi to a successful defence of the America's Cup, coming back from 2-1 against Emirates Team New Zealand to win the 32nd Cup Match 5-2.

BAIRD took to the stage and in a voice that showed true emotion. He said, "This has been a massive effort by a big, big team. The America's Cup is a dream for us all, but our sport is so much more than that. I would really like to acknowledge all of you who are here in support. Thank you."

The Awards were presented by ISAF Presidents of Honour, His Majesty King Constantine and His Majesty King Harald V of Norway, and Arnaud BOETSCH of Rolex. The Awards ceremony took at the Penha Longa, a UNESCO World Heritage site just 25 km outside of Lisbon, Portugal. The ceremony was hosted by author, television commentator and long-time friend to the sailing community, Gary JOBSON.

The nominees for the 2007 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards were:

Female Sailor/Crew

Sarah AYTON, Sarah WEBB and Pippa WILSON (GBR)
Marcelien DE KONING and Lobke BERKHOUT (NED)
Claire LEROY (FRA)

Male Sailor/Crew

Vincenzo ONORATO (ITA)
Robert SCHEIDT and Bruno PRADA (BRA)
Rohan VEAL (AUS)

The 2007 ISAF Rolex World Sailors of the Year were voted for by ISAF's Member National Authorities (MNA). Nominations for sailors may be made by anyone - a shortlist is then determined from all of those sailors nominated and these select few become the 'Nominees'. Each ISAF MNA has one vote for both the male and the female Nominee they believe deserved the honour of the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards -


The ISAF Rolex World Sailor Podcast is available in iTunes. To subscribe you need to go iTunes and in the toolbar menu, pull down Advanced > Subscribe to podcast, and then enter the following URL:

Go to the Podcast section of your iTunes and you should see the new entry, with titles etc. Once it is downloaded you can watch in iTunes, and sync it with your ipod. (For other MP3 and MP4 music and video players, consult instructions on how to subscribe to podcasts and downloads).

For wishing to download directly rather than through an MP4 video player, open a browser and insert the following link -

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM